You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Could a Neuroscientist understand a Microprocessor?

in #steemstem6 years ago

Hey,
In general such notons may be captured within paradigms related to emodiment , enactivism or the extended mind hypothesis. The latter holds the consciousness can be extended even onto interactions with bodies and even devices (like phones).
Still the brain is more or less seen as the central locus of behavior. Of course when you look at complex behaviors of an octopus which is thought to be a function of its peripheral nervous system rather than its central nervous system, one can see that some of the fundamental attributes of behavior could stem from the body (hence embodiment).

Sort:  

Thank you! This gives me a good starting point for my research. I often refer back to the octopus when discussing non centralized processing, happy to see you cite them as well. This is all new to me, in that I have focused more on the plant side, but as I prepare a research study with another scientist that will take us into the realm of awareness and decision making with regards to plants, I am finding the need to better understand these aspects with regards to humans.