You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Accepting negative moods can reduce them

in #steemstem5 years ago

I've never heard of that rose approach - but I love it!

I've been trying to tell hubby all year so far to turn his moods around as his brain just repeats patterns and holds onto them rather than thinking: 'Oh, here's the negative thought again, I see that, that's okay, allowing that in, but now to refocus ON ALL THE BLOODY AWESOME THINGS IN OUR LIFE'. I think it's gradually sinking in....

I've been putting hands on heart and saying 'there there, it's okay, you can feel this, it's alright' with utter compassion, and that's been working really well too. I've been catching myself in moments of negativity or stress and really recognising my own body language and what language I use and try to turn it around -- not to IGNORE how I'm feeling, as that's no good, but to change my 'go to' brain patterns that don't serve me at all.

Great post!

Sort:  

Exactly! Changing our thinking patterns is an ongoing job because you can not change that what you have been building for years, overnight. The good thing is (at least that is what I have found) is that it does get easier and once you train your brain to stop and recognize a certain action or thought, you have already done half of the job. Stopping the negative momentum really is a huge step because people either go on a negative rampage about the thing that got them upset or become upset because they got upset and the momentum keeps on going.
Much love to you and your hubby 💚