Bizarre Natural Phenomena Vol. 42 - A Sprinkler By The Beach (Thor's Well)

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)

Today I'm taking you on a trip to the coast of Oregon (US). Put your hiking boots and raincoat on and follow me!


Image from: commons.wikimedia.org - Author, John Fowler - License

As we are strolling around the seaside we spot a rock pool where the waves split half upon hitting it. You like the view and run towards it to take lots of photos, because your facebook page needs a new profile pic. While we are walking to get closer, we admire the waves coming back and forth, the sea water pouring in the rock pool and we get closer and closer until, a few steps before reaching its rim I stop and you keep going until... PLUF! An outburst of salty water pops and gets you wet from top to toe (see? I was right about the raincoat). 

With your crying eyes sore from the sea water that got in, you give me an angry look and say: Hey! Why'd you do that for?

'Cause it's fun... for me, I answer back with my innocent face, blinking eyes and wide smile on. 

And now that I got you all wet, do you want to know what this place is?

Thor's Well!

Unfortunately, not that hot guy's :(

Image from: flickr.com - Author, Jorge Figueroa - License

Thor's Well is a sinkhole located in Cape Perpetua, a forest place of unique natural beauty. It is basically a "pipeline" formed within the basalt rocks of the shores. If you remember cenotes from another post, such formations occur when a sea cave that takes years and years to form, finally collapses because it can no longer hold the weight of its upper layers.  Now, the water filling it up from below sometimes comes with such great strength that is spilled out violently and then pulled back in. 

The "well" is not deeper than 7 meters and even though some may call it a gate to hell it won't drag you into a wet grave to become food for the mermaids. Incidents of injuries have been reported in the area. The strong sneaker waves knocking people down, leaving them with bruises and cuts from the sharp rocks are a thing to watch out for when walking along the coast.

Still there are many risk-defying adventure seekers that visit the area that makes a hell of a photo shooting place. Huffington Post has an amazing photo collection here.

Wanna have a look?

References

atlasobscura.com
oregonlive.com
traveloregon.com
huffingtonpost.com

Thank you so much for your time!

Until my next post,
Steem on and keep smiling, people!  

Sort:  

'Thor's Well...unfortunatelly not that hot
Haha! Made me smile. xD

Thanks for the interesting sharing of another awesome anomality in nature!
Best,
mountain.phil28

Well, Thor is a hot guy, so I could not resist :P

Thank you for reading @mountain.phil28!

Great idea including the drone footage. Looks very cool! Definitely not as hot as Chris Hemsworth.

Thank you!!

Well, only the Gate to Hell in Turkmenistan is hotter I guess (it was one of my first phenomena post) :P

This is really wonderful, I don't think I've seen anything like it Ocean waves in a confinement, that's awesome. I had to watch the video a few times to behold the wonderful sight..

I know, isn't it??

Thank you for reading @pearlumie!! :)

Lol, Okay I now understand why the well was named after one of my favorite Marvel Comics characters :)
Nice piece buddy

Hehe! Thank you @samminator! :)

Να ρίξουμε τον Τσίπρα μέσα! :)

Μπαααα, θα μας τον φτύσει πίσω!

That's awesome and quite interesting! I love the drone footage! :)

Thank you @rocking-dave!! :D

I like this post. Full of discoveries from all over the world, a wealth of information: that's really what Steemit is

Thank you! :)

Great Post & Picture!
Nature is so amazing.
Thanks for sharing and steem on :)

Thank you!

Steem on!

Kifisos is like this when its raining!!

But no Thor in Athens either :(

And now that I got you all wet, do you want to know what this place is?

I was actually scanning through this post initially until the above line got my attention :). Had to go and read from the top again just to be sure of what you meant. The uniqueness of your posts is amazing. well done

Ahahaha! I'd like to know the first thought to cross your mind you read that :P

Thank you for being here @gentleshaid! :)

Your guess is as good as my thought. :)

I want to get back to Oregon for a visit. Cannon beach was a great trip some 20 years ago. I didn't know about Thor's Well so thanks for sharing.

Thank you for reading!! :)

Hi Ruth.. Very well written and the place looks intriguing and fun! The natural phenomenon adds to the charm!

I would love to visit the place sometime, and see it for myself...and nobody would be chuckling when I get wet! :)

Upvoted you 100% and followed you for telling me about a new place!

Looking forward to reading more such posts from you!

Take care and keep exploring!

I am happy to hear that you found my post worthy!
Thank you for being here!!

As for the no chuckles thing, perhaps you could be the one chuckling over your friend's unexpected shower ;)

Haha.. I like the twist in the tale! :)

I just need to find someone chuckle worthy. ;)

Wonderful

Water flowing in a hole is so beautiful dear thanks for sharing this. Stay happy and i wish you all the best

Thank you! :)

It's amazing post dear and I love thor .
Thanks for sharing .

Namaste

Thank you! Have a nice week!

Beautiful results @ ruth-girl post, @ I'm very interested in the results of your work. Thank you for sharing, good luck.