You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A posthumous memo by Stephen Hawking: towards a super collider in China (or at CERN?)

in #steemstem6 years ago

What I've been thinking after reading this post is this: Does location really matter in the construction of the new collider? Oh yeah! China has cheaper man-power; well so is Nigeria too :)..
If neither China or CERN is chosen for the construction, well, Naija would suffice. :D

Once again, some stupid stuff is hidden in this post… Can you find it?

I think I did, but let me look again to be sure :)

Nice piece sir

Sort:  

The host has to put the largest chunk of the budget on the table. And you need concrete proposals originating from the host about potential sites, etc... For now, there was only two. Note that I have no clue about the size of the particle physics community in Nigeria. You may know better than I do :)

In terms of budget and proposal, I think CERN would have it. Maybe CERN would be the potential host of the new collider

Both CERN and China can have them (which is why they are connected to concrete proposals).