SteemSTEM Distilled #21

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to the 21th issue of SteemSTEM Distilled, a bi-weekly curation effort by the members of the @steemstem team.

SteemSTEM is a community driven project which seeks to promote well-written and informative Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics posts on Steemit. The project involves curating STEM-related posts through upvoting, resteeming, offering constructive feedback, supporting scientific contests, and other related activities.

For more details, a recent update on the steemSTEM can be found here, and a not so recent one there. Moreover, if you ask yourself about what it means to be part of steemSTEM, please check here.


Our team scours the platform for original and quality content.

After working through thousands (literally!) of STEM-related posts and upvoting more than 150 that we deemed to be worthy, we proudly present you our top 6 handpicked choices for this Monday-Wednesday period.


Monday


Scientific News #7 - Southern African Scientist face ‘Day Zero’



A great mash-up of the latest scientific news by @mountain.phil28. Some of the featured stories include a megadrought in South Africa, the world's thinnest mirror and fitness-supporting bacteria!



Super Cool Science S#!t #14 - Atoms the size of cities


A neutron star is the collapsed core of a large star which before collapse had a total of between 10 and 29 solar masses. In his latest post,@thatsweeneyguy explains us why they are one of the coolest "S#!t" found in the vast nothingness of space.



Tuesday


How a Boy From an Indian Village Broke the Code of Life and Won the Nobel Prize








@alexander-alexis introduces us to Har Gobind Khorana, the boy from an indian village that broke the code of life and won the nobel prize.








Is Your Morning Coffee Making You Sick?



Many of us start our day with a cup of coffee. Some of us can't even function without it! But could it actually do more harm than good? This is what @lesshorrible has to say on the subject..





Wednesday


And that's why Carbon is a tramp... --- Wait, there's more!


@pangoli explains us some of the most interesting and unique properties of carbon, the carbon is the building block of life.


The Cataclysmic Floods of the Last Ice Age: Pacific Northwest



@ keephy takes us into a journey, 12,000 years in the past back and explains how a peculiar topography, the Channeled Scablands, came to be!




A few words about the nomination process


For the sake of transparency we feel we need to clarify how our nomination process works; each issue is compiled by certain members of the SteemSTEM community. This mid-week's editorial team was comprised of @trumpman.

The editorial team chooses their favorite posts for the week and each issue is the result of their joined effort. In order to keep the process fair, posts written by the editorial team are excluded from the nomination process.

Don't be discouraged if you didn't make it on this issue. The competition is harsh and there is always a next time :)

All curation rewards earned will be used to fund @steemstem project functioning and activities.

See you all next Monday!

Sort:  

This will make Steemit a great website.. In the near future, we don't need to search in Google because everything is here.
I'll try writing a nice post ... I still have a lot of problems in the English language, but I'm going to try to learn more.
Good job.@steemstem

Congratulations to all the nominees, and special thanks to @trumpman for his selection :)

Once again, the choice was really tough!

to be fair, your name should be there too. This would not be possible without your bot slaves

Naaaaah :D

I second that thought.

I just want to point out that I make a great team with myself!

Lol... Noted! 🤣 🙌

You one forms the best team ever :D

Big congrats to the featured authors in this issue and excellent curation. The articles are fantastic as always!

Thanks for approving our selection ;)

I am glad that my work is recognized and promoted in this issue of steemSTEM Distilled!

Btw my name is written with a dot and not a hyphen. ;)

Thank you @steemstem and @trumpman for your efforts!

yeah, that's my bad sorry :( I wrote the names from memory so.... Well, at least the link works :P

Not a problem. :)

As always, I am clapping hands!

I want to tell you, I can't complain.
Quite the opposite, you always bring joy to your reign
How can I get it across?
Without the words always sounding the same
That's why I'm doing a ..... poeeem

Well, there's something wrong with it.
And the meaning of the words, I admit
don't do a whole lot of ...

But anyway, that's what I say!!

LOL!

Many thanks & congrats to all of ya!

It seems that you are in fire :D

what can one do? It's silliness sometimes. :-D

I love silliness :)

Thank you so much for being a featured author! It really is an honor! Congratulations to the other featured authors! I am really excited to see where SteemSTEM is going. Glad to be part of this. Cheers!

It was a pleasure! :D

Congratulations to everyone featured this week!

It seems that my name is has been put in place of @keephy 's for the final article by mistake ... if @steemstem could fix that I'd appreciate it so that @keephy can get proper credit for a great post.

Oops, sorry about that! This is fixed (you can blame @trumpman... mouahahahaha).

You are very good leader continues. vote for me, I am new. follow me @saizor

Hello @steemstem
I want to start here some of science posts.Can you help me here! That's my post about engineering https://steemit.com/steemstem/@studentoftheyear/1-about-photoelectric-effect-defination-laws-and-formula

@steemstem As an engineering student I am highly interested in this. How do i get nominated??

It is sufficient to write excellent content :)

After writing an excellent content, what additions should accompany my post to enable it seen by @steemstem.

Just add the #steemstem tag. It should be enough.

Can I write a steeming pile of poop and just split the rewards with you? On a more serious note, great job writing all of these up everyone, and good job selecting them!

No you can't. Except of you calculate the relativistic corrections to the poop velocity... :D

Time to open source the patent to my poop descent slower on steemit!

No thanks... I don't want to know, actually... ;)

good post thanks

Thanks for the curating, great articles!

You are welcome!

follow me i like you

GG guys

Congratulations to all the nominees !

I can no more agree with this comment ;)

Congratulations to all!. Thanks @steemstem!
Regards!.

SteemSTEM rocks!! Big congratulations to all those nominated. They are well deserved of it.
Go STEM! Go STEM!!

Big thing ... congratulation @steemstem be the best
Iam @savicqan on steemet

Conggratulation on Steemsteem,I Glad to know imformation about Steemstem.Every Body Will be Followed It .I like Very Much About Science

Congratulations to the authors and kudos to the steemSTEM team

Thanks for passing by! :)

you are welcome prof.

knowing steemstem is something from the best things happen with me this year :) , thanks for all members and i will do my best that someday my post will be here in SteemSTEM Distilled :)

This is so lovely steemstem, great choices

This is a great effort! Keep supporting the great science content on this platform!

can you help me to grow steemit here in our country - PHILIPPINES
@tforth @steemstem

congratulations to the winners...Hard work pays alot.
motto (2).jpg

It does :)

excellente

This post is very interesting friends, friends upvote my post @dedikurniawan

Congratulations @steemstem! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!