You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A mirror hidden world to get a grip on dark matter

in #steemstem5 years ago

Very interesting idea! :)

Sadly it's probably wrong, but we can never know.
Even tho I've met with dozens of various detectors I couldn't remember LUX or didn't hear about it at all.

Anyways, just went into the literature about LUX... and I'm amazed with the usage of a tank of purified xenon to detect DM! Sad to hear it is decommissioned. DM is giving all of us lots of troubles understanding it. :)

Very nice read, thanks for simplifying the article and sharing it with us. :)

Sort:  

LUX is over, but continues at the same time, under the form of the LZ project. Xenon has still a lot to teach us on dark matter :)

Concerning the mirror Standard Model, I am quite skeptical as well. Whilst I am entirely fine with hidden sectors, I do not see why the interactions and the particle content should be copies of the visible ones. However, we do not know and it is important to be pragmatic and test all options.