You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do Parents Stereotype Their Children's Gender?

in #steemstem6 years ago

Another great post Alexander.

Gender studies has gotten more and more fascinating as I've gotten older (or just the society around me has gotten more progressive.

I'd like to think I can be that perfect parent that doesn't stereotype via gender, but I don't think I'll ever keep things completely unbiased. A little bit of gender stereotyping probably isn't going to ruin childhood development, but I worry about my older family members maintaining some negative gender differences.

Sort:  

Complete freedom from bias is probably impossible. People have preferences, and inequalities of power in society means they will attempt to enforce their preferences through the media or politics or what have you. But we can aim to make things tolerably unequal :P

Are you already a parent or just thinking ahead?

Thanks for your continued readership & support ))