You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Geospatial Big Data: The Magic of Maps and Money

in #steemstem6 years ago

A lot of this is very complex but I can relate to parts of it. When I map out a route to go cycling in a new area, I use Strava's 'heatmaps' or search the area to find popular 'segments' - sections of road that people mark out to compete against others. This way, I set out knowing my route is a tried and tested one and I won't find myself confronted with a freeway or other dangerous section of road to turn onto. Thanks for your knowledge share. I will mark this one for closer reading and re-reading.

Sort:  

Yep, the concepts can be applied to damn near anything at damn near any perceptual scale, whether the individual like yourself or a giant oil company or a government. We are the data and the data is us.