Steem Ocean Update: New Algorithm Settings, More Data Used, More Bots Ignored & Sortable List Added.

in #steemtool6 years ago

I've been busy in my spare time the last few days working on Steem Ocean to make it more useful and powerful as a research tool for Steemians. I've just made live the latest changes and a Re-index has been completed.. Let's see what's changed...

steemocean

For those who missed my launch post on Steemit, Steam Ocean is the new website I have created to provide useful tools and data to Steem users about a variety of topics and the first service I have added is an implementation of the Vote Ranking Algorithm I described a few weeks ago.

The idea is to show who is actively directing the rewards pool with their upvotes, who self-votes a lot and other related info. Currently you can check out the top 200 in the Rank table, plus search for individual users and view all of their votes, plus the vote values.

Recent Changes


I have taken the 'proof of concept' version that I announced a few days ago and extended it to include the following additions:

  • The Vote Rank/Index is now calculated to place more value on a lack of self-voting than it was before, plus less value on the overall financial value of the votes for each user. This means that non-whale size users stand more chance of getting good ranking scores. Since the ranking system is intended to show voting behaviours and intentions more than just pure financial power, this makes sense - however, I will continue to improve the algorithm as we continue and as I receive feedback.

  • The Indexing process has been configured to be ready to run automatically and now uses voting data from a 1 week period, rather than 1 day as was the case previously. So all votes made between 1 week from the time of indexing through to a further 1 week earlier will be counted in the indexing process. The current index includes 99803 users!

  • I have added over 100 accounts that are bots or large/organised groups who will be excluded from the rankings to avoid skewing the results unfairly. If you know of accounts to add or of ones that shouldn't be in the list but are, then let me know.

  • The main rank list is now sortable and is displayed a bit more usefully.

Changes Yet To Come


I have quite a long list of useful things to add when I get time, but the next ones I will add in the coming days will be:

  • Set the indexing to run once or twice a day automatically. The process currently takes about 4 hours of processing to complete, so if once a day is enough then I'll just use that to save electricity and bandwidth.

  • Make the Individual user report page sortable.

  • Upgrade the main ranking page to allow it to display all users in the index, rather than just the top 200. Results will be searchable/filterable and broken up into pages. This will allow some pretty useful data analysis.

I'll be adding graphs and other fun things in later updates too.. Stay tuned!

Wishing you well,

Ura Soul


signature

Vote @ura-soul for Steem Witness!


vote ura-soul for witness
View My Witness Application Here


ureka.org

Sort:  

I no longer have the desire to write quality posts. I'm not a whale, and not a dolphin. I'm a small fish. My articles have a low rating. My photos, which I did with great emotional impression, are estimated by 2-3 people. High ratings in Steemit have strange or unoriginal articles. My post some users comment on the single word "Welcome" or "Thank you" and put themselves like $ 0.50 -0.80. At the same time, they do not read my article. Once in Steemit mercantile is developed, it is worth using bots.

Greetings - Steemit allows users with the most 'stake' / money to upvote posts the most, so people with money come and buy steem and then upvote each other to get more money. At the same time, the posts which people in the community read the most and upvote the most can also get paid high amounts too if they are noticed and read. There are a high number of posts that receive little or no payout. When I started I made about 100 posts that got no real payout because I did not understand that situation. If you do not make friends with other people by talking with them then they are unlikely to follow you or vote for you much unless you make posts which are unique and informative on the topics that they are specifically interested in. The system is not perfect and more balance is needed, but the more the system is understood, the more payout your posts will receive.

Thanks for the answer :)) I'm friends with people in Steemit. The best option for me is comments. People often read my comments, answer me, we communicate and become friends. In Steemit there are topics of articles that I understand well and can comment. This makes me happy. However, as before, I do not understand everything in Steemit. And I do not know how to use a bot. Thank you for your article. I got important information :))

cheetah <--- bot
steemitboard <--- bot
glitterfart <--- possibly an upvote bot, minnow booster related
curie <--- sudo bot
steemit-bot <-- well...
payforplay <--- just a guess
coin.info <--- bot

Thanks! I'll check those out.

I just saw that it was now showing several days and came to look for news. :) But I don't think it was showing rank placement out of all the active users?
Thank you for putting less emphasis on value of votes. I try and do my best with my red fish power but it would never come close to other big fish power!

I made a change last night before going to bed to fix a bug i had found and left the index process running - the new version of the code takes a lot longer to process a re-index and it did not complete correctly, so currently there is no data available in the site. I will fix that today.

I appreciate all your work! It's a great tool and hopefully will help the ecosystem!

Its far more better upgrade than last time I checked. Current index includes 99803 😮 users! But last time the number was 47549 (I couldn't recall, May be I commented a screenshot somewhere in your post). Excluding the BOTs is also very good idea.
Hope You will add more users very soon.
Good Luck With That.

Thanks - yes, the system looks at all accounts that vote during the time period. Since the time period was extended to 1 week from 1 day, there were more user accounts included. If I extend the data period to 1 month or 1 year then there will be many more users, but that will use up a lot more processing time - so I am starting with 1 week only. This also means that the rankings are relevant to current activity on Steem, instead of referencing activity that occurred a long time ago which may not be so relevant.

I have just noticed a bug in the algorithm - the system first counts how many accounts each user has voted for, however, it does not consider whether those votes are upvotes or downvotes at that point - so the negative voters are getting artificially high ranks currently. I will fix this in the next update.

Good work nic post.

This post has been just added as new item to timeline of Steem Ocean on Steem Projects.

If you want to be notified about new updates from this project, register on Steem Projects and add Steem Ocean to your favorite projects.

I agree with you. The low quality of articles in Steemit is getting big profits. Nobody wants to read good articles. Interesting beautiful photo no one looks. No one needs high quality of fasting here. Only comments remain - they are sometimes read and evaluated.