Coffee and Philosophy: Similarities


Today's mugs are brought to us by similarities.
It's funny how we can be so much alike and still so different.


Today I want to talk about a personal philosophy of mine that I hope at least some of you share. If not who knows perhaps this will be a good topic all around! Do you ever notice how much of the time negative people or information sources focus on our differences? They fail to focus on the things that make us all the same, and as I personally believe in the concept that we are all one, I find this highly unhelpful for promoting harmony and balance. Personally I feel that looking upon others as "different" than ourselves instead of considering all the ways we are similar is inherently starting from a negative place. If we start out considering that we're all just people doing the best we can and expand outwards from there, then we are much more likely to come to a place of peace and agreement. I don't really want to get into my thoughts on why separation seems to be the mass agenda of the world, but perhaps just consider looking upon people as inherently like ourselves first and then balance out our differences second instead of doing it the other way around. Peace and respect are very powerful. Namaste.

Sort:  

Great post my friend

Upvoted

Great series of posts. Until people realize that the "differentiation tactics" applied by the political systems of corporate ownership to monetize their goals.... aka Greed, self-respect of others will not be forthcoming. Sadly Peace lags behind that prerequisite. Please continue the good work. Might as well start change now.

We all have to be the change :)

Reminds me very much of something we discussed at a spiritual workshop I went to, many years ago: "Differences are used to build walls, commonalities are used to build connections."

I has stuck with me ever since (2002) and just makes so much sense... and often seems to hold true.

Must have been a nice workshop!

That is very true, especially when it comes to religious beliefs. There are so many similarities, but people choose to focus on the differences.

Good story and nice to meet you.
Please follow me @patricksanlin and upvote. Thanks