Coffee and Philosophy: Value


Today's mug is brought to us by value! What is that cup of coffee really worth to you?


I have found myself reflecting a lot on the concept of value lately. I often try to find the balance between self worth and the value I put into others and it's clear that the more we care about someone or something, the more value we have placed in it or them. There are so many ways to "invest" in something or someone, like with steemit, I choose to invest my time and myself into my posts, and in the past I invested financially, so it's clear to me that I hold value in the platform. It's harder to define the value we place into others. When we start measuring those intangible things like love, respect, and time that we invest in someone or something it seems to always be harder to walk away from them. Perhaps that's just my personal perspective, but I find it easier to throw money away than the time and emotional investment I put into people or things. What's harder for you? Walking away from a financial blunder or a personal one? Namaste.

Sort:  

I'd have to say that it is harder for me to walk away from a personal blunder just like you. Financial blunders can hurt, sometimes they really hurt... But putting something that is really and truly of yourself into something, some project, or some relationship is a whole different ball game in my opinion. Therefore it hurts that much more if it needs to be set aside.

It feels like losing a giant piece of yourself.

Exactly.

I think a personal blunder is harder for me. Money is recouped over time. Relationships can suffer longer with personal blunders.

I find it harder to walk away from a financial blunder... well time is money right?

I invested $100 into SP just recently along with buying $100 Litecoin. I am also have 100% faith in this platform. I LOVE steem.

It is true when we have invested emotionally in someone it is very hard to walk away. That is why so many folks stay in relationship longer than they should. They are afraid to leave and admit defeat. As for money not so much with one exception. I have found with career blunders they eat you up inside and it becomes hard again forgive yourself for your mistake. Thanks for sharing.

I get that, it took me a long time to walk away from a "career" that I hated. It felt like failing. Some times I guess it's better to "fail" and be happy than to live a life you don't want though.

Hi Philosophy Trail,

You have presented a great question.

Both the 'financial' and 'personal' are so blurred, and closely connected.
Often times, personal blunders are a result of financial blunders.

Thanks :)

I can see that. I don't really value "money" per say though, but I could see where it causes arguments.

Personal one, of course. Even the financial becomes personal at some point. Private property is called private for a reason. But still, we should try to separate those two if we are looking forward to a better life. We must create our own values, the pyramid of values, with one on the top being priceless and that should be - humanism.

Walking away from a financial blunder is hard, from a personal perspective it's always harder but sometimes it's easy when you lose faith in that person or get stabbed in the back, so yeah for me the money is hard to walk away from

I guess to me, money isn't unique and has no personality. Like one dollar is always just a dollar to me. You can have billions of people that are all in some ways unique and irreplaceable. I guess that's why life is priceless in my mind.

yes i agree, i've been stabbed in the back by someone i cared about, it was hard, now i just walked away, can't trust that person anymore, this explains how i feel i guess

Pondering here. Time and love are all we have, time has limits love has no such limit. And finances, we don't carry finances anywhere when our physical body expires. What we do through love perhaps creates memories in others that allows us to outlive ourselves.

Thanks for the post, gave me something to chew over :)

Personal blunders for sure. Money is a renewable resource we can create. Personal relationships take longer because of the human emotions involved. Lose, grief, remorse, regret, sorrow and forgiveness all take time to process. Love your thoughts. Upvoted and followed

Life has never been about the money for me. If I was willing to give up my ethics I could go make more than I would know what to do with. For me it’s the people, and their best efforts to make another person’s life better that I enjoy seeing in this world. With that said I have troubles giving value to others as I have given up or lost a few friends to drug addictions over the years. Sometimes you got realize time you have put into others has turned into a sunken cost. Sadly, it’s just best for your own wellbeing to move on in some cases. A rather grim way to look at things I admit.

I can't bear the pain of leaving my loved one. Even the thought of it gives me a feeling of deep sadness and makes me cry. Your thoughts are so genuine and pure, I will love to read more from you.

i find myself conservative in personal relationships - i've got my group of people that i care very much about and it gives me joy and it hurts to the bone when things inside happen - and that i value the most - the experiences.
with money i'm liberal becouse i see it like a form of energy that enables you to do or have thing and so i see myself like the owner. if i lose it i'm responsible, but this isn't hard as losing a friend or a partner...
with people is like a story i think. with some you want them to never end, with others you can't finish reading the first chapter.

Often, we can create a dichotomy between the financial and personal blunder. With being married, if I were to make a big financial blunder in any aspect of my life, it is simultaneously a painful and personal mistake for myself and my family.​

amazing bro....keep it uppppppp

I have found that when I am very low on funds, it affects how I deal emotionally with things. To be honest, a little more than I would like. I've invested more in relationships than I have financial investments so I've felt the pain and am connected to that pain. I have yet to really suffer from a major investment mainly because I haven't spent as much time on it.