Coffee and Philosophy: Worth


Today's mug is brought to us by the dark that always exists to provide contrast to the light.


I often thing about value and what value I apply to myself and to others, but I feel that worth is something different. Worth, in my mind, is how much darkness we are willing to accept and embrace for the light. Worth is how much pain and discomfort we are willing to endure to better ourselves or show another that we value them. Obviously there are limits and pushing those limits is in some ways what awareness and life is about. How much light and happiness can we find in a sea of darkness? Personally I feel that it's only limited by our own ability to endure and persevere, but I try not to think in absolutes and always be receptive to new perspective. What are your thoughts on worth? Namaste.

Sort:  

Beautiful thought. A few weeks ago a close friend of mine did some stupid and awful things because he thought he had no more hope and thus meant he didn't needed to worry about consequences anymore. Recently he had been recovering (slowly but sure) and reading this encourages me to show him this and help him to find that light inside his own hopeless darkness.

We can find as much light as bright are our dreams :)

We should never lose hope. We are only hopeless when we have no hopes and dreams.

Sacrifice is an ongoing process, not a one time payment!!
Blessings to you!!

I like that, I hadn't really associated sacrifice with worth before, but it makes sense and aligns with my thoughts.

totally your post is amazing that's pretty helpful thanks a lot for sharing and keep on posting ;)

Why thank you!

thanks for sharing.
Please follow me @patricksanlin and upvote. Thanks

Great post!

The value of something or someone. True. What is the price tag of darkness for the few dim seconds of light you will have? It may be worth it to one person however not to another. How much do you love or need that . Emotion plays a big part in the worth factor. Also how in demand it is by how many people. Some worths keep their value or may even increase in value while others diminish over time. Culture and values also change the worth factor. Thanks for sharing

I like your point of view and i like your blog. I believe "worth" as the term self worth reffering to what value you bring to life, value meaning your ability to help and change someones world because at the end of the day humans are social species meant to live in harmony.

What's up with the mug meme everywhere? Kant and Aristotle did not drink coffee to reflect on the meaning of life, existance, etc. Stop turning coffee mugs into blogs! Ha!

I'm not trying to be anyone other than me... if it bothers you too much you don't have to read it :)

thanks for sharing these thoughts
we do put up with a lot when its worthy. and worth should be just what you think its worth not what most people say. it is also as much as we want to be...