You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: MY PERSONAL JOURNEY WITH ROCKY MOUNTAIN SPOTTED FEVER (RMSF)

in #steemusa6 years ago

That's some pretty scary stuff in my opinion. Sorry to hear you're going through that. Another example of why I wouldn't want to live with pets, I've found the majority of infectious disease comes from animals, so.. In addition to my belief that animals should just live free, now this is another reminder of why living with an animal could be the last thing you ever do. Or rather, the.. Cause of your life ending, or your loved ones as well.

If I ever had kids I pondered having pets cause they can help children learn, though.. I don't think it's worth the risk really. They can learn about companionship with other humans.

Hope you heal up good! And thanks for sharing this with the community, hopefully it helps educate others as well to the potential risks.

Sort:  

I appreciate it @apolymask. Oddly, it wasn't the pets that provided the tick that got me, it was me tromping around unprotected while working and not giving a damn about preventative measures LOL. Such is life when you walk around thinking you are Conan The Barbarian haha.

I have NEVER had issues with pets as far as illnesses or anything of the sort. If you take care of them and provide them the proper diet, medical care, etc., then you honestly have nothing to worry about. I can understand the deterrence in owning one, but personally, I couldn't see living a day without a canine companion or one of my lizards.

I do firmly believe that companionship with animals is something that every child should experience. It not only teaches them about companionship, but can teach responsibility, compassion, understanding, respect and most importantly, what unconditional love is. The unconditional love part I feel is most important because that is something you will NEVER find with any human being unless it is your parent, and even then for some, it can be an iffy situation. I/E, hypothetically, you say something mean to a person or yell at them, chances are depending on what you say, they may come to resent, dislike or even hate you. Now, say the same thing to a dog. They may be upset (because they do feel emotion just like humans) but they will love you unconditionally and always be there for you as a companion and member of your family. Just my two cents on that one.

Thank you for taking the time to read this article and take in some of the information. I feel it is important for people to know this stuff. Maybe my example can help someone else because honestly, I do not wish this on anyone. Thank you for the well wishes and support my friend!

I don't think you can say pets are totally safe the way you did, most infectious diseases if not all of them.. Come from living with animals. Countless people die every year for living with animals. People get vaccines for illnesses they wouldn't have if they didn't live with animals.

I mean.. Clearly nature is telling us, stop living with the animals or I'm going to make a bunch of you sick and countless will die.

It's not worth it for me. Those animals deserve to live their natural lives and not be enslaved by humans for whatever reason, and maybe if people treated animals with more respect, people would be kinder to each other as well.

Enslaving and in the case of most people, killing and eating another being just because it looks different and can't speak our language or defend itself is not right. That's not the message to teach children in my opinion. That might = right and that we can enslave and kill others just cause they look different or can't speak our language or defend themselves.

I've been vegan for years, my shoes aren't made out of animals, I avoid harming them at every opportunity. Animals are not just a commodity to buy and sell and trade for human pleasure, they are their own beings and they deserve to live their own lives, and if we didn't live with them, we would be a lot healthier and less diseased and less people would die.

I'm sure you love your pets, though I hope some day we love animals enough to stop eating them and owning them, and that they can live their natural lives without being a commodity of humans. Then maybe people will love each other more too, cause if you won't even kill an animal for food or enslave it for your enjoyment.. How could you do that to another human being? How could we drop bombs on innocent people overseas if the majority of people respect the rights and freedom of even the most defenseless and powerless among us...?

I don't think people will start loving each other more, until they respect the animals more and stop murdering them and enslaving them by the trillions to the point it endangers our very own species survival.

Sorry if those opinions conflict with yours, I sort of doubt we're going to agree.. And hopefully this doesn't turn into a long argument cause I don't have the time.

But.. I think an animals right to live it's natural life is more important than someone's taste pleasure, or need for entertainment or company.

It's the golden rule. Treat others how you would like to be treated. If you wouldn't want to be enslaved for someone elses entertainment/company or eaten for food unnecessarily.. Don't do it to others.

You're welcome for the well wishes and support. Hopefully some day we can all live in better harmony with each other and care about each other more.

meep

Hey @ionlysaymeep, if you are gonna "meep" my post, can you at least upvote it as well? Typically you'd be flagged into oblivion, but here's your shot LOL.

I don't think you can say pets are totally safe the way you did, most infectious diseases if not all of them.. Come from living with animals. Countless people die every year for living with animals. People get vaccines for illnesses they wouldn't have if they didn't live with animals.

I mean.. Clearly nature is telling us, stop living with the animals or I'm going to make a bunch of you sick and countless will die.

It's not worth it for me. Those animals deserve to live their natural lives and not be enslaved by humans whatever reason, and maybe if people treated animals with more respect, people would be kinder to each other as well.

Enslaving and in the case of most people, killing and eating another being just because it looks different and can't speak our language or defend itself is not right. That's not the message to teach children in my opinion. That might = right and that we can enslave and kill others just cause they look different or can't speak our language or defend themselves.

I've been vegan for years, my shoes aren't made out of animals, I avoid harming them at every opportunity. Animals are not just a commodity to buy and sell and trade for human pleasure, they are their own beings and they deserve to live their own lives, and if we didn't live with them, we would be a lot healthier and less diseased and less people would die.

I'm sure you love your pets, though I hope some day we love animals enough to stop eating them and owning them, and that they can live their natural lives without being a commodity of humans. Then maybe people will love each other more too, cause if you won't even kill an animal for food or enslave it for your enjoyment.. How could you do that to another human being? How could we drop bombs on innocent people overseas if the majority of people respect the rights and freedom of even the most defenseless and powerless among us...?

I don't think people will start loving each other more, until they respect the animals more and stop murdering them and enslaving them by the trillions to the point it endangers our very own species survival.

Sorry if those opinions conflict with yours, I sort of doubt we're going to agree.. And hopefully this doesn't turn into a long argument cause I don't have the time.

But.. I think an animals right to live it's natural life is more important than someone's taste pleasure, or need for entertainment or company.

You're welcome for the well wishes and support. Hopefully some day we can all live in better harmony with each other and care about each other more.

@apolymask, I will never be angry at someone for having conflicting ideals or anything with me. I respect your perspective and honestly feel the same way about some bits and pieces of it, though not all of it. Either way, I very much appreciate your response, it not only showed me the character you contain, which I personally admire and respect, but showed your morals and views. As I said, you have no worries with me finding your comments or opinions conflicting. I am always eager to not only learn someone else's point of view but learn more about them in general. Thanks my friend!

I appreciate your civil and respectful response. :)
Usually when I express such opinions I get a lot of flak back from people who want to try to justify their ways of living. And.. It's usually not fun. Most people get really defensive and it usually ends up in arguing and such, so.. Truly.. I appreciate your civility and your ability to respect someone who has differing opinions.
I also appreciate the nice words, and I feel very similar about you even more so after surprising me in such ways. Cheers man. :)