You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemWorld Update ~ SPS / Holy Shitness Proxy

in #steemworld5 years ago

Sorry, supporting a closed-source project without any concrete deliverables or QA/QC with community funds is a non-starter for me. It's a great project, but you are drastically changing your funding model by drawing from this well. Your operations should reflect that.

Sort:  

As I mentioned earlier in a few comments, SteemWorld will be open source next year, but I need some time to prepare for that.

I added the following to my proposal post, so that no one will miss it:

Since quite some time already, I am in the process of preparing my code to be published on GitHub. As I want to deliver a clean and secure solution for the whole Steem community, it's hard to say exactly, when SteemWorld will be completely open source, but I am doing my best to get it done until Q2 2020.

It's not really clear to me why you can't publish it now, if your plan is to open-source it. Is there some proprietary code that needs to be removed first? Or are you just concerned that the code is "messy" now? If the latter, I don't think this should stop the process. In any case, as an aside, if you do open-source it, I'll add my vote to the proposal (note that this isn't a promise of long term support, that would depend on future progress).

It's the latter and I really have a problem with publishing imperfect code. It all started with a small toolbox, but it grew quickly to a big codebase, which I'm still cleaning up over the time. It took me weeks already and I know that many developers won't bother to do this, but I want to complete it, before publishing the whole thing. So far I made good progress and I think that in a few months I'm done with it.

Of course, this kind of work is important but not highest priority for me and I don't do it the whole day, because there are many other things that also need to be done.

On the client-side I didn't work with arrow functions in JS from start on and I mainly used simple {} objects instead of classes, statics and inheritance. A few years ago there was not much browser support for all the things we now can use in JS, but that's no excuse for me. I don't want to keep the code in kind of a deprecated state. Publishing it now would cost me more time than cleaning it up prior to that.

For the server-side I developed a blockchain parser in PHP, which is still being used (until I can switch to my planned SDS). It parses the chain, stores blocks (for later replays) in compressed SQLite databases and builds the dbs for the mentions, incoming delegations, delegation history, witness stats, transfers search etc. It also contains a request handler class that handles the requests coming from the clients on SteemWorld and a simple ticker API that caches the market prices for currencies and many cryptos.

I assure you I'm sitting here more than 12 hours a day 7 days a week to get all this done. That's no problem for me, because I did this for many years already and I have always been kind of a creative freak. I developed my first stuff when I was ~ 14 years old. I am now 34. I worked for 8 years as software developer in a medium-sized logistics company, collected a good amount of money for my dream of being self-employed and lost it all shortly after I started my business, because of a huge mistake with highly leveraged gold trades.

So, that's a part of my life story. I won't give up on this one, because then nothing else would make sense anymore.

The organic community obviously loves and respects all the hard work you have put into this invaluable tool, thank you for all your hard work, and no mind to the gatekeeping trolls.

SteemWorld will be open source next year,

Great. Please come back with another proposal then. Until them, I'm reluctant to support spending limited community funds on closed source development (which does not mean I will never support it, but its a serious obstacle).