You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemWorld ~ Weekly Support ~ #4

in #steemworld6 years ago

@steemchiller steemworld is a great site! Thanks. I noticed some weeks ago when the market dropped and the SBD print rate went down that the estimated payout was wrong. You may well have fixed this by now but just in case. I moved to using steemit's estimated payout so it's no biggie but I do like the rich feature set you have provided. A lot of work I'm sure.

Sort:  

Thank you! I've just recently added the calculation of the liquid STEEM part for the payout amounts and it should now be much more accurate than it has been before. But I'm still tweaking my formula from time to time, so that we hopefully will have a 100% exact payout prediction in future.

Yes, it's indeed a lot of work to build something like this and to keep it working stable, but it's also a lot of fun for me ;)

Thank you @steemchiller. How did you work out the formula to estimate payout?

The easy part was clear to me after using Steemit for a while and reading some articles about author rewards. The more difficult part is the curation rewards calculation. I came to my solution by connecting what I already knew, trying out different things and watching the resulting values.

I don't show the gross amount as it is being shown on Steemit. I subtract the calculated curation and beneficiary amounts from the author payout sum, so that we can see how much we really will receive. It's not perfect yet, but it's already coming very near to the real payout amounts.

Do you know where in the source code of steem the calcs are done?

Not exactly but part of it can be found in 'libraries/chain/util/reward.ccp'. I didn't use anything from the official source for my calculation, because there are major differences between C++ and JS code / dependencies.

I guess it would take more time to convert the C code to JavaScript than just build it from scratch and the best way for me always is 'learning by doing' (without just copying existing code).