You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Programming Senses?

in #stem5 years ago

I fully agree with your thoughts and concerns. You point out that there are many more dimensions to the area of “senses” than I ventured into, some that I hadn’t considered at all, and each worthy of their own deep discourse. There are physical (mechanical, electrical, chemical), societal, and philosophical aspects that all have implications, some trivial and some profound, for man and machine alike. I think one could make it a life’s work and still there would be aspects left unexplored for lack of time or resources!

Thank you for bringing up the list of senses beyond the five classic ones that I addressed, although a couple I might put into a different category assuming a ‘sense’ is a fundamental interface to one’s environment (for lack of a better description). Ego, language and conceptual, for example, to me seem more like computational (again, probably not the best word here) results than stimulus based entities. I’m ‘thinking out loud’ (or free writing as some would call it) here, so no doubt there are better ways of expressing these ideas! I hope it makes sense to you :) As you may have gathered, I do enjoy these explorations into areas not often considered!

Sort:  

It makes perfect sense, how you would categorise those "obscure" senses differently (there is a vein in psychology which I think has "discovered 39 different senses!! Clearly thinking along programming lines, detailing neurological responses,... I presume for now).
But the thing with spiritual science (which I research) is that it DOES see these 12 senses as direct and separate and critical INTERFACES for the integration of spiritual and physical realities...With trainingrounds rooted in actual life experience, independent from neurological feedback (or you'ld be dealing with loops). But I've given up on the more technical arguments for this, seeing that there is also a necessity to by-pass computational logic to even be aware of such a spiritual reality. Proving it exists is a Catch 22 in this case (very frustrating, but there is always art to try next!)

Look forward to more exciting explorations with you!