Helping High School Students Build Robots

in #stem7 years ago

High schoolers across the world are currently rushing to design, build and test full size robots. For the next five weeks, these students will be working after school and on the weekends as part of the First Robotics Competition. Between returning to work full-time and volunteering with this program, I haven't had time to work on my other posts. Instead, I thought I would share a brief overview of the competition:

I first heard of the competition two years ago and have been volunteering as a mentor since. Working with the students has been a great experience for me. I get to exercise some engineering skills that I don't use at work, and also be a positive role model for the next generation of scientists and engineers. If this program interests you, there are all sorts of volunteer opportunities. Click here for more information on how you can help out.


[email protected]
I have a wide range of topics I'll be covering in my upcoming posts: alternative energy, minimalism, homeopathy (and its dangers), engineering ethics and possibly even some architecture. Follow me!
Sort:  

It's important to teach our youth about robotics. Many future innovations will be found in electro-mechanial devices that give better movement and abilities to robotic systems. Nice post!!!

nice
thanks for sharing