You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fusion of Twins and The Effects of Blood Transfusion

in #stemng6 years ago

I think this is the second time I've heard of chimera. But I never really got down to reading what it means. This is pretty detailed. Though I haven't seen a real life chimera case before. Hopefully I may run into one pretty soon.

Sort:  

Well, I guess that means you are ahead of me in the field of rare medical conditions. I stumbled on the condition while researching why my friend would suffer up to three infections after the surgery she had even though she was healthy and the blood she was transfused was clean. I learned that transfusion could cause suppression of immune system due to the actions of the leukocytes from the donor's blood. That was when I saw chimera and realised it was an actual thing.

I appreciate your support and comment. You write pretty interesting posts yourself!