You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Laptop Battery Recycle - Why do I find good 18650 Li-on Cells in Dead Laptop Batteries?

in #stemng6 years ago (edited)

Take a look at the title of your article again. I think something is off.
But I can tell you why you still find "good" batteries in a supposedly "dead" battery system. Sometimes only one of the batteries in the series is dead. E.g., if the system is a 12V system made up of 8 nos of 1.5V batteries, if one of the batteries in the string fails, the nominal voltage will now be 12V-1.5V= 10.5V. This 10.5V may be the low battery cut-off voltage. Of course, the battery may work in another setup where you need only 9V when you remove the weak/dead cell.

My friend bought a 100AH lithium cell battery for $700 in China; battery is made up of many 18650 cells. The battery was super light and is expected to last at least five years owing to its higher cycles when compared with lead-acid batteries.

Sort:  

Go plain with me @greenrun, am a bit confused?

Laptop Battery Recycle - Why can I find good 18650 Li-on Cells in Dead Laptop Batteries?

I think it will be less confusing if you write

Laptop Battery Recycle: Why can do I find good 18650 Li-on Cells in Dead Laptop Batteries?

Okay i get you bro.. Thanks a lot