You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Flying across the Atlantic in Less Than 30 Minutes

in #stemng6 years ago

Nice article on rockets, not quite what I expected when reading the title of the post though. Are you advocating inter-continental travels by rockets?

Even intercontinental flights by jet planes is considered unsustainable by many - and rockets are very much more wasteful, even if the rocket body can be reused. From an energy-conserving point of view, using jet-engines or scramjets where possible should be very much more preferable than carrying around oxygen.

Sort:  

Thank you for taking your time to read my post. I do appreciate.

Are you advocating inter-continental travels by rockets?

Yes, I do. I agree that any new technology comes with its challenges, and also understand your concerns on how wasteful rocket engine is concerning energy. But, you will agree that Intercontinental travel by rocket would create a niche market considering the time factor as shown on the post. Concorde once had that niche market for transatlantic (London - JFK) and had challenges doing intercontinental which I believe was one the most significant limitation