Why “doing” is what matters most in Investing

in #stocks7 years ago (edited)

Why “doing” is what matters most in Investing

1_2nr_ULb8_KMY4_C5w_XNWAwnyg

In the last 3 years, I started reading everything that I could put my hands on about investing, the stock market, and related subjects (like mental models for example). In all this time, I understood one thing: doing is as important as reading and thinking, and in many cases, much more important than reading.

In fact, now I practice much more than I did in the past because I know that doing matters a lot, and that it is the only way to make things happen now and in the future.

Of course “doing” matters not only in investing, but even in many other aspects of life, but in investing, it is more counter intuitive, I think.

When many people think about investing, they think that you must have the right mind framework to detect the best stocks to invest in (companies with a great balance sheet, a great management team, and with an edge over competitors), and so that the only important things are reading and thinking.

Yeah, of course this is really important, but reading annual reports and making analyses are as important, if not more, than reading books about investing.

So, I’m reading more annual reports than before, and talking with more people in the investing field.
I talk even more with the management team of companies that I have a mild interest in but do not own any stock in.

This is because I have promised to myself that I will practice more and more often than I did in the past.

So “doing” is what matters most in the end in the investing field.

Sort:  

Congratulations @insomi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @insomi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!