Curing your anxiety - Stoicism Wednesday's #54

in #stoic5 years ago

Anxiety perception.png

Today I escaped anxiety. Or no, I discarded it, because it was within me, in my own perceptions – not outside.

This is something that has been prevalent in my life as of recent. I have been anxious for many reasons, moving country, dropping out of university, not knowing what I want in the future, meeting new people, starting a new job, etc, etc... It all compounds into anxiety which can spiral out of control, which is why stoic philosophy and especially Marcus Aurelius' views on anxiety really help with finding the path to curing the unsettlement in my mind (and can help you too).

It isn't something that we can escape from, but it is something that we can get better at dealing with. What is important is the reiteration that all we have is our present self and our perception of the world around us.

Aurelius also stated:
The universe is change: life is opinion

Therefore, it is important to know what works best for you, to bring you back to the present moment, to take a deep breath and to focus on your perception to turn it into a positive, because at the end of the day, everything can be turned into a positive if there is an opportunity to practice virtue.

Self-discipline, some time alone with your thoughts, your drawing or your writing can really help provide clarity.
I am dealing better with all of the issues that I have had as of late because I refocussed my attention on my relationship with the self, doing what feels right for me, helping others and realigning my thoughts and behaviour to the goals I wish to achieve over the next 10 years.

This, you can do too!

Prosoché, Prokopē & Phila

Adam x

marcusaurelius.jpg

Marcus Aurelius


Born on April 26th 121 AD in Rome, Italy
He went on to become the Roman emperor in 161 AD and was regarded the last of the five so-called Good Emperors. He wrote the famous book on Stoicism called Meditations which wasn’t formerly meant as a book for the masses but rather just a journal for himself on how to live his life. Unbelievably years later, the lessons he used and applied in those days can still be applied to society today, and it used as a tool by many titans of industry present today. He later died in 180 AD and is celebrated as the ideal emperor.