Steemit Inc - Please stop your powerdown

in #stopthepowerdown5 years ago (edited)

I'm in the awkward position of being obligated to publicly comment on something that should never have escalated to this point.
This isn't a threat, or an ultimatum, just a request that I fully expect to be ignored like most others over the last 3 years.

I've avoided this because I actually agree with a lot of the points raised by others regarding Steemit Inc's dissapointing track record as the primary developer and largest stakeholder of our blockchain.

I didn't want to potentially weaken the perceived leverage in the private "negotiations" that have been ongoing for the last week, but I feel the need to explicitly spell this out :

I will not support a hardfork that removes access to any accounts funds.

This isn't an ultimatum, and it isn't dependent on Steemit stopping their powerdown
I joined this network for its censorship-resistance and the ability to transact freely with your own funds is critical.

I hope discussions and the recent burst of updates and communications from @ned and @steemit continue beyond this wierd knee-jerk reaction happening now.

We have a 100 Million dollar marketcap network here - lets not fuck it up :)

PS - Resteems are not endorsements/agreement, and my appearance in certain slack and discord groups is purely to keep myself informed as a top 10 witness. Take my name off the traitor list already, and stop spreading fud kthx <3

If you have no idea what I'm talking about, check my recent resteems for more info

Sort:  

"please don't fuck this up"

I have to say I really like that comment. It's terse, yet incisive. It has a certain spare eloquence, yet it retains the earthy impact inherent in the incredibly versatile English word "fuck", an ancient word transmitted to us directly from the old Anglo-Saxon tongue of our pre-Norman ancestors. It speaks of sincerity, and a heartfelt appeal to reason. It is a plea for cooperation, a hopeful wish that acrimony may yet be set aside in favor of amity, or at least civility.

Who could have imagined that so very much could be said, with five simple one-syllable words? Truly, ausbitbank, you have my sincere respect. You are an orator for the 21st century. Thank you for saying what so very many of us were thinking, yet somehow could not articulate.

I have a lot of debt. I was forced to power down the account steemit

It's a tough one ABB.

Sometimes I feel the crypto-market would prefer to see SteemInc gone. Investors tend to shy away from managers who continually over-promise and under-deliver.

Besides, it will give Ned time to focus on changing the world with his guitar.

Just saying ABB and as always - appreciate your efforts on behalf of Steem.

SK.

Posted using Partiko Android

The crypto market clearly supports this...up 55+% since the power down lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

I reckon that's a simple and profound statement of principles I find admirable. I strongly resonate with your concern expressed here: don't fuck it up!

Thanks!

At this point...I don't care what Steemit does. We need to start doing development on our own...and so do the people working on projects on Steem. There are a few projects on here with a few real devs...and I'd really prefer if they had devs putting a bit more into Steem development itself. We've relied on Steemit for too long and it looks worse when they pull their usual shit because the development isn't decentralized.

It wouldn't matter as much when they cut back their team if there were more people outside of Steemit working on Steem. It also wouldn't matter when they fuck up their forks if we had more outside devs to catch any mistakes and fix them before they cause huge problems and a huge embarrassment.

We can't be reliant on Steemit. We just keep getting more and more proof of that.

Absolutely true.

@ned and Steemit, Inc. have made it clear since I joined that they don't give two hoots about ordinary users. They are, simply and only, in it for themselves, and keep proving that time and again.

Just saying...Steemit powers down everything and market
Goes up 55%...let them go and get them the hell out of here.

Posted using Partiko iOS

If they sold the market would go down 100% and you'd be complaining... because it would be the end of steem.

No, it wouldn’t go down 100% lmao...and they would be retarded to sell it all at once. They will sell it OTC...steem will survive....fact is they are making their exit and it’s already RALLIED 50+%

Posted using Partiko iOS

They haven't even gotten any of the powered down funds yet.

👍

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well i picked a bad week to make my steem come back was on a 6 month hiatus wasn't aware of all the drama. Which was the main reason I left in the first place all the whale wars drama going on.

Whale wars? I think you were asleep longer than you thought, that was 18 months ago 👴

Lmao maybe a year. Not 6 months.

Check it out! Really it was that long ago

What can I say time flys. 😁 Felt like yesterday.

Why don't the other witnesses get together and fork it first and preserve the control?

I don't know much about the politics or who holds the balance of power but it seems like steemit inc has conceded before the battle even starts.

Is it possible for an alt. alliance to hardfork it and preserve the assets and keys before it's too late?

I will not support a hardfork that removes access to any accounts funds.

Suggesting the approval of theft from another, is just beyond madness....

And would seriously fuck steem(it).

This is the kind of thing that happens when children in grown up bodies are given responsibility...
What kind of marxist/communist/postmodernist psychology is at play, here?

I think the word you're looking for is anarchism? Do you never support this 'kind of thing'(revolution?)? I don't have a strong opinion in this case yet but generally I think it's great that revolutions can happen easier and less violent here and that most successful revolutions have been for the better. Who's given this responsibility you mention?

Anarchy isn't theft. It's assumed that anarchy would provide no security from theft.

Communism is theft.

I've avoided this because I actually agree with a lot of the points raised by others regarding Steemit Inc's dissapointing track record as the primary developer and largest stakeholder of our blockchain.

Let's just be glad @ned is not into hookers and blow. It amazes me how cool, calm and collected he seems considering his wealth, age and the venomous feedback that many folks give him. Steemit, Inc. just brought us Hivemind with a very realistic promise of the rocksDB HF in Febuary.

steem-logo2.jpeg

Keep in mind that the policy wall already blocks access to the wallet and keys.

image.png

I still can do a lot trough busy and steempeak, yet If i want to change my keys I'll be forced to agree with the policy.... And just because of this policy wall and the way it forces me to agree, thats why i refuse to agree.

Hi, @ausbitbank!

You just got a 0.02% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

This post has been included in the latest edition of SOS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.



Only nonsense people powerdown. I don't know why people haven't patience. They hold their money in banks only for 10% yearly commission for 10 years where Steemit can give upto 5000%+ bonus within a single year where 500%-1000% fall is nothing. We should wait at least 1-3 years to get huge commission. I think steem price will touch again 2-3$ again this year. 20-50$ in 2025. Invest and hold your money in Steemit.

Dear @ausbitbank

I will not support a hardfork that removes access to any accounts funds.

Neither would I. Is there any chance people like myself (with 3-4k SP only) could have an impact on this fork? Can we vote ?

Yours
Piotr

At this moment there is no fork, no code, no witnesses to vote for. This was a hypothetical situation being spun by ned as he continues to panic fail

I choose you as a witness. I like what you say with freedom. That's why I was sent to Steemit. Very many do a good job here. But Frei is free, I agree.

Thanks for your support :)

Dear @ausbitbank

I just clicked on link in your profile description and I think I also voted on you (since you're so responsive). I could possibly help you get more votes (since I managed to build strong community around myself and Im in close touch with large number of my supporters).

Perhaps we could help each other :) Let me know what do you think.

Also please could you tell me how to check all list of witnesses our there?

Cheers
Piotr

The longest list of witnesses I'm aware of is on @drakos's https://steemian.info/witnesses

Dear @ausbitbank

Thank you for taking the time to reply and share this link with me. I really appreciate it a lot.

Yours
Piotr

with pleasure

Dear @ausbitbank

Thank you for your kind reply and for taking the time to explain those thing to me.

Yours
Piotr

Thank you for posting this in a manner with no 'pulled' punches...anyone with an IQ level above 60 here, are really tired of the bull-shit and willy-nilly posts from the upper echelon, detrimental 'sudden' changes, non-responsiveness from the CEO and the Steem Inc. crew, etc.

I am happy to see some of the 'top' witnesses 'finally' expressing themselves as freely and honestly as they have been doing this past week.

Regards,
A Steem/Steemit advocate, author, curator, gifter, promotor and HODL (a larger investor too upon more comfortable reinforcement)

Thanks for speaking up, @ausbitbank
The lack of information on behalf of Steemit INC is frustrating but so it had the lack of responsiveness from stakeholders and witnesses regarding this matter. I'm sure little fish like myself are happy to see posts like this one.

Hello!

I am a community manager at Snax. We are trying to make public blockchain based on EOS node. Snax chain will provide transactions over social networks, token supply based on user social influence.

Snax as well as Steemit rewards its users for the content created, but Snax works as overlay solution over existing social networks (e.g. Twitter)

We have no ICO. We already have a testnet, mainnet will be launched this month, and we currently looking for great candidates for Block Producers like yourself. You can find out more about us at our website snax.one

If our project is interesting for you, please let me know by emailing me at [email protected]

Looking forward to hearing from you, and keep rocking this world!

Hello @ausbitbank! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Congratulations @ausbitbank! You received a personal award!

DrugWars Early Access
Thank you for taking part in the early access of Drugwars.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I know I'm late on the discussion, I just joined the community a week ago, and I also know nobody will agree with me.

But I believe their power down might be a good thing. Think about it, they have so much Steem on their hands, and on SP form. Of course they think of profiting from it, regardless of the influence they have by holding it.

I mean, every ICO/airdrop movement that keeps so much premine for themselves are doing that expecting to sell it later, somehow, in case their token/currency survives its early era.

So, if ppl are dissatisfied with that influence, it might be better to just let it go to the community. Let them power down and sell their Steem. Let it happen, let's try to overcome it, and if we survive we might get a better community then.

I also don't agree with any kind of fork that blocks funds or moves it elsewhere. I totally disagree with ETH fork, regardless of how many ppl lost their money, how much money was lost and who to blame. This totally breaks confidence on the currency and the community.

Dear ausbitbank:

We are SteemBet, the next generation STEEM based gaming platform. We are honored to invite you to join our first fantastic dice game, which is just the beginning of SteemBet game series. Our dividend system has now launched. The prize pool has already accumulated 2,000 STEEM and more than 60 players have participated in staking mining token SBT. A huge reward of 40,000 STEEM is awaiting! Join us NOW with other 500 STEEM users to loot HUGE dividend reward!!

SteemBet Team

Official Website
https://steem-bet.com

Discord Server
https://discord.gg/95cBN3W

Telegram Group
https://t.me/steembet