The cactus that survived a war in the desert

in #stories3 years ago


Link

Mew! Mew!

You'd think it would be hard for a talking cat to hide in a world of talking animals. But I was good at it.

I liked to hide in the little nooks where I could watch what was happening all around me. Of course, anytime the enemies showed up, I'd have to back away. And I couldn't come out until I was sure they were gone for good.

You see, enemies could smell me if I stayed too close. They'd smell the meat I eat for dinner. I see so many animals eating meat. It smells so good to me! And I'd have to fight the urge to steal it right out of their paws.

But I had to wash up after. I didn't want to stay close enough to one of the enemies to smell.

One time, it was hard to hide because there was a very sad sad owl who used to soar through the air, but now she flew along the ground till she could be with her friends. She had soft feathers, all covered with creases. She worried about everything on the ground. And she'd stayed on the ground because no one would fly with her because she was so very small and weak, and she might fall down and be hurt.

She would stand and wait for me. As I walked by, she'd sing very soft and sad. I'd always remember her sad sad song.

She had always sung sad sad songs. After awhile, I thought it would never stop.

But other times, she was ok. When other animals came to listen to her song, she got excited. She sang louder. And moved her feathers to make her song sound big. Until her eyes looked big too. She looked beautiful.

So soft.

The song never lasted long.

Until she went back to being sad.

It hurt me to watch.

I thought I could fix her sad-sad song.

Every time I thought I maybe had maybe solved it, she would get so excited. She'd get so excited to have someone listen.

Or she might sing louder than anyone ever had. She'd sing so soft everybody would have to listen carefully. And she'd look so beautiful.

But sometimes, I'd have to hide behind a bush, just watching her. I couldn't tell what she was doing.

Usually, she flew away. Not that I'd follow. I just watched.

One time, she was watching me. I was watching her.

When she saw me, she flew to one branch of the same tree. I watched her fly, she was so small. And pretty. And she flew.

And I hid.

She flew around with all the other birds flying in the air. But then she flew to another branch.