The distance of a forbidden love

in #stories3 years ago


Link

A Drop of My Soul for you on Valentine's Day by DrScienceMan on deviantArt Full story here via on

I think I am going to ask out my best friend today. I've had my eyes on her for years, but being the shy nerd she was, she never even noticed an approach from me give me a second look. She was very beautiful, with brown eyes, shiny brown hair, looks athletic, has a great figure, and she of course is smart, nice, listens to me, very friendly, all the things I could want in a girl. I have liked her for years. She means the world to me. She has always been there for me and always gave me a purpose and a direction. I was always scared to say anything though, I never wanted to upset the friendship we had. Sometimes I'd catch her staring at me and I would hope that she was thinking exactly what I was thinking, that she might end of liking me, that she might consider that I might be worth a shot. I did do that. I caught her looking at me often, but it didn't end up in anything.

Now she's accepted a scholarship to come to my school. Unfortunately for her, I am not at the same level of excellence in the school. I am better than average, but not like her. I also took a private school, and she took a state school, and we're on different sides of the city, and we're both working hard. We're on different paths. It feels like, no matter what, our paths will never cross. She's getting more and more successful, and I'm just getting by, trying not to seem like a loser, trying to become successful. But I don't think I can become successful, not the way she is. Now my whole world in around her, I need her to be happy. She's my inspiration.

It's Valentine's Day today. I'm supposed to talk to her later. But I know what I have to do. I have to try. I don't think I can live without her. I need her. I love her… I think. I hope that she will see me in a new light. I hope that she feels the same way, but I just can't tell. I'm not sure how I should ask her, maybe I could try showing her how I feel through my writing. I mean, she does always say she likes my writing. Maybe I could write her a short story on my feelings for her.