You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Quit. Everyone Does. Why You Quit is What Makes You a Warrior or Not.

in #stories6 years ago

Thank you! It has been a long time since 1990. Back then they could still put "hands on" and beat you up. There was a lot of pressure mentally and physically if you were considered out of line. I kept myself out of trouble for the most part though and avoided the physical part.

I went through when it was not co-ed yet, and we didn't have "time out" cards like I heard they had in the past at least. Suicide back then was fairly common from what I understand. It was just not talked about much in or out of the Army.

I can't really fault the old ways either. The Army was in the business of making warriors. That was a good thing. They could have made it easier for people to quit though perhaps. Some of the guys I went through with didn't have much to look forward to though if they failed to finish Basic Training.

Some of them, if they did fail, would have gone to prison. I'll never understand why the three guys killed themselves over the training. It definitely broke you down. Heck, I was so tired that I would fall asleep standing up in line.