My start with Storj

in #storj6 years ago

Storj-symbol.png

While I'm waiting for filecoin to come out I've been running storj on an ok machine to see what I could make. I'm only two months in, but already I've seen acceptable results. Anything over $12 a month should make it worth-while by my estimate.

This is my first machine:
Screenshot_2018-02-24_01-57-49.png

With 358.39GB (21% capacity) I was able to make the following:
Screenshot_2018-02-24_01-52-44.png

As you can see, the first month was a total loss as far as storj earned. The machine was still slowly building up shares. What I gained in the first month is a great 'reputation' score, it's maxed out from having an impeccable uptime and decent speeds. The last I heard was that storj still gives out shares randomly, but being up for every opportunity already helps and when they switch to reputation I should be set.

Into this second month I'm pretty happy with my 14 storj at the moment.
So much so that I felt bold enough to spin up a second machine:
Screenshot_2018-02-24_02-06-49.png

A brand new life into the world. So young, 0 allocs. I expect a loss for the first month with this one as well, and possibly even the second, we'll see. It will be random based on how much people decide to use it, so I could suddenly see both become unprofitable. All the same if I see the results scale then I'll probably continue adding machines :D

When/if filecoin comes out I'll likely race them against each other and keep the survivor.

Sort:  

How long was it until you got your first Allocs?

Good question! This new 2nd machine was born on 2018-02-24, and the first alloc was 2018-2-25 the next day. Although this was very slow and made me wonder if it was configured properly. I think this is due to the random allotment that they use over machines? So if thousands of machines are in the network it'll take a while?
It didn't really start picking up more allocs until 2018-02-28 though and now I have 64.2MB shared as of 2018-03-02.
I had reset it a bunch during those first couple days. Not sure if I was helping or hurting it or if it's purely placebo. Seems ok to do a software reset, and I normally do once every couple of days if I have low peers (Note: I have no idea if peers matter.) and I'm not actively sending something over the network.

Hmmm, what do you consider low peers? I'm currently at 79 - I've got 2 allocs (0 received) 4.01MB (0%) within the first 16 hours.

I do wonder how resetting applies to things as well. So much to figure out haha!


Yep, this is the part of storj where I feel like a pigeon pecking at a disk.
In the first 16 hours that doesn't sound bad. Keeping good uptime and a low time delta might show positive results.
I'm not actually sure if the peers matter, like it could just be bridges that I get allocs from? Are peers just people that I can mirror to? It's a max of 150 peers by default, so I figure anything in the 20-30 range I'll do my pigeon duty and peck the restart button.
Although I would check my bandwidth usage first to make sure I'm not interrupting a transfer :^) Which is why I haven't set a cronjob to restart it daily, idk if that would hurt my stats or if it restarts 'gracefully'.

If anything, why don't we compare our numbers after the months over and see - I'll leave mine up, no restarts, and you continue doing your thing and we can see if there's a significant difference in numbers. Obviously it's only a 2 person sample size, so differences have to be taken with a grain of salt, but it'd be better than nothing!

Be sure to update, they're on 8.7.2 for the core now.

Agreed, 2 people in a system that's random distribution will probably not be able to discern much.
As the great Popiel said,

Congratulations @schrosct! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!