Sort:  

Thanks Bola . How much was the investment ?

.

Good looks, I bought Storj at ICO and didn't look much into "mining" or whatever the proper term is. I made some $$ and still hold a little position, but I need to start renting out drive space ASAP! Thanks for the reminder!!

wait... can you trade the Storj erc20 tokens? where at?

Idk, I think you can. I'm holding the old ones still haha. They're tansferrable though. SJCX is the old token right? It's on Poloniex and Bittrex 👍🏻

Oh ok. Yeah those are the old ones, you will be able to convert to Storj 1:1 shortly. The erc20 arnt tradable yet until migration is completed

Thanks for the info. I sort of remembered thats what I had read somewhere.

Hey that's awesome info @bola

I'm invested pretty nicely from that STORJ ico they just had. Seems I will make out well when-ever they do the switch over... I'm still waiting on an update on when that will happen, but they did do the distribution of the Erc20 Storj tokens so it must be soon.

For the payouts tho, that seems pretty good for only 300 GB
I was thinking of using my 2 TB HD from my computer to do some mining like this, but am currently deciding whether to go Storj or if Burst is the better option? Have you tried out burst?

.

Very useful information, thanks!

Is that cheaper than amazon or azure storages? Who funds the networking?

.

How much does it cost in power for a month?

.

Nice, but do i NEED to have my pc turned on 24/7, i wonder if that will make any profit? :)

.

Thank you for sharing.

.

You're welcome.

Not bad this little performance and thank you for this discovery :) I subscribe to your blog because it is interesting

.

Useful information thanks for sharing

.

Thanks bola. Resteem and will check it out later.

.

Any idea how much your electricity cost was to keep these drives running for the month?

.

Cool, multitasking is good. 👍

Nice post @bola

Thank you.

Thanks for this, you have earned my up vote :).
Just wondering, what type of collateral is there to ensure that the host does not randomly make the system inaccessible to the user and 'steal' their files?

.

It's not bad!

.

I am looking for the BurstCoin, you have a time, check out this coin^^

Interesting blockchain application. Haven't heard of this!

And with Steemit, you made the same amount in 2 hours! Oh, man!

.

Awesome dude. Thanks for sharing

.

great post, good job brother :)

Nice that's awesome!

@bola why storjcoin instead of Burst or Scia? Interesting that this out there. Thanks for sharing

.

Good point, start up and go ! Sweet I'll check it out. I have a 1TB drive just laying around.

That sounds pretty good actually! Do you know if there are any specifications on what kind of hard drives? For example, if they are external usb ones, would it work? And what happens if you got disconnections?

I will read into the community maybe tomorrow, thanks for brining it to my attention. Do you see any disadavantages, like higher power usage , or computer is slower, or anything?

.

Nice

.

Am already following you

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jun 21. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $62.19 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 21 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

thnx for upvote on Lao Tzu - i am following you and appreciate it -David

.

I've been mining burst but I also set up Storj to try it out.

After reading your article I think I'll give it another go.

Thank you so much for sharing

Wait, you mean I can rent unused hard drive space on my computer!?!

Interesting blog. I was about to start a similair discussion. The current total market cap of all cryptos might seem high but blockchain is here to stay and will involve all our lives. I do see a bright future for everyone that's hold's their coins with a long term vision. This is quite an interesting website I found: https://www.coincheckup.com This site is really helpful in my coin research. I don't know any other sites with so much indepth analysis. For example: https://www.coincheckup.com/coins/Storjcoin X#analysis For the Storjcoin X Detailed analysis

Would love to hear an update on how this is going, considering price change, new users to Storj, competitors like Sia, etc.

Any additional thoughts you could share at present?