[Global] Stuff I'm doing and musings (01/12/20)

I'm Currently going through the list of stuff in the "Bundle for Racial Justice and Equality" on Itch.io that I bought almost 6 months ago, rather than doing searches via keywords, and I've found out that there are more things in it that I wanted to buy, so it's turned out to be a great thing overall! Going through 59 pages of stuff though… that's pretty time-consuming. Still, it does allow me to check stuff out later on, after I've sorted out my PC as I plan to sort out moving my current rig's parts to my new case, although I can't use the secondary SSD till after I've done a wipe and reinstall, so I'll leave it unconnected till then! Also, I'm going to need to make a list of various components (such as PC parts) and other things that I need, seeing as I need to be better organised for future sales, seeing as I mostly missed the boat on Black Friday and Cyber Monday deals with getting drives cheaper, but oh well… I guess it's at least a way of me making sure that I pay back the "loans" that I took from myself!

I especially do need to work out the priority for things too, given certain things will be needed sooner than others, such as a new HDD for my current rig, so I can wipe my SSHD and move it to my "work" laptop instead, although I do also need a storage drive and SSD for my mini PC (already have some RAM; 16GB should be more than enough for it I'd've thought, but I can cap out at 32GB if it really needs it, plus my laptop can use the RAM as well, seeing as it has 2 slots, rather than just 1) so I can get it properly up and running for what it'll be used for, which will be video uploading, admin, social media, research (if my main rig is out of action for some reason), and situations where I need a Windows PC but deem rebooting my main rig into Windows as too much hassle… oh, and also hardware that needs Windows for some reason, which happens more often than I'd admit!

That said of course, there is another reason why I also have some retro laptops around, besides them being configured for gaming on different eras; I plan to have Win95 OSR 2.5 (Primarily DOS though), Win98 SE w/ KernelEx, and Windows XP builds available to use, with a couple of hardware anachronisms, such as using SD cards, Compact Flash, and SSDs (XP builds) as hard drives for these, seeing as SD cards are cheaper to replace than drives, plus they're somewhat less prone to failure, and consume less power, as well as reducing the weight of the laptops too, which is always a good thing! I've also started to do some research into Psion and EPOC systems too, seeing as I had the urge to, so I've managed to locate some games and programs to play with, primarily for the Psion Series 3a and Series 5/5mx, but I also have some Psion Organiser IIs, as well as a somewhat rare find: a complete in box Oregon Scientific Osaris, which was seen as a cheap alternative to the Psion Series 5 back in the day.

I also have a Nokia 9300i Communicator, and eventually want a couple of 9500 Communicators as well (both models support WiFi), and ideally I want to get a Psion Series 7, a Psion NoteBook, and a Geofox-One, but they're exceptionally rare (especially as around 100 still exist - out of around 1000), so I'd feel lucky just to actually see one in person! Either way, I do want to explore all these systems in the future, as I feel like they'd be interesting to look at. Now admittedly, people have looked at the stuff I want to cover in the past, but it seems to be to varying degrees, depending on the item! I do also want to look at a couple of V-Tech computers too, seeing as a few of them are especially interesting to me, but I only have one checked off my list so far! To switch gears slightly, I've decided that it was time to do a brain dump of all my planned projects, videos, and series into a spreadsheet, as well as also incorporating component checklists as well, so I know how ready something is to go; I also have a colour-coded time scale too, seeing as even if I have all the components, I may lack something like space to work, or the skills, which I need to learn ASAP!

There are other things I want to look at too, but I've not yet worked out how to put them in the spreadsheet, plus I also need to work out some scripts, series/project summaries, and other documents as well, just so I have an idea of what I need to do, seeing as I want to eventually start filming next year! I do at least want to do a video on the box of games I picked up last month, seeing as I want to see how well I do with that face-on format (especially as that's the format I'll be doing for SGU Pickups & Thrifts, along with the odd picture and video clips), plus I have a couple of interesting titles I want to show off too! As far as things go, this will probably be my only confirmed SGU-related video this year; there may a couple of other videos, but that depends on how I feel at the time.

I have a DiggerKrew video planned, which will be festive related, partly due to when it's being filmed and also because of the likely theme of the box as well. I'm gradually trying to get stuff hashed out, although realistically, I'll probably need a few weeks or so to get things in a better, more organised state. As for streaming, I'm still planning to start streaming back up on Twitch from the week beginning 11th of January, with the 2nd weekly stream starting at an as of yet undisclosed time. I need to probably wait till April to get the Team Stream going however, so I can't update anything with that right now.

I have some stuff I need to get sorted however, so I'm going to cut things here. As always, watch this space for details. I'm always somewhat active on social media, so be sure to check me out on there if you want to be a bit more up to date with what I'm up to!

Until next time though, take care and good night.