STORY-MENTOR :-THE PEOPLE VERSUS JANET THORNE TRAIL DAY ONE

in #story-mentor6 years ago (edited)

Hello guys !!!!!!

It's been quite sometime since I blogged and I was thinking , what do I post next when I came across a new project by @michelle.gent for her mentorship group.
You get to Write a story under Circumstances different from your usual working environment.

how I started this story is amazing as all I jad to do was write.


IMAGE SOURCE

It could have been less of an ordeal if her lawyer had simply let her plead guilty and spend the rest of her miserable existence in a maximum security prison. She very much deserved it considering the despicable crimes she had been accused of. Crimes she had no idea she had committed, or rather could not remember committing. Instead he had made her volunteer to serve as a witness for the prosecutor's cross examination.
With a reassuring look from her lawyer,she stood up and quietly mounted the stand.
"Murderer"
Someone in the crowd shouted and a series of curses and screams followed until the judge hit the gavel on the table twice.
"Miss Thorne, you have heard the severity of the allegations leveled against you today, how do you plead?"
"Not guilty"
She took her place on the witness stand and raised her right hand slightly as she swore the oath to tell the truth and nothing but the truth.
" Miss Thorne....where were you on the night of July sixteen" The prosecutor asked regarding her closely.
" I was at the Jacques club"
" What time exactly did you leave the club ?"
" I....I'm not certain, I was ..."
" Miss Thorne, in your former statement you said you were at the club"
" yes, but..."
" You have no idea when you left the club, that is to say you never left the club at all"
" I did " she answered back almost immediately.
" When exactly, was it before or after you saw Mr Fischer walk in"
" I don't remember"
" Did you or did you not see Mr Fischer that day Miss Thorne"
" I did but that was after he was killed " she cried out
" Did you have a personal relationship with Mr Fischer late September last year"
" Yes, but it was just a fling"
" A fling ?"
The Prosecutor scoffed and turned to the judge " Your Honor, these are court documents stating that Miss Thorne here was married to Mr Fischer, a marriage that was annulled just three weeks before he was murdered in cold blood"
" I never married that man, he was despicable " she yelled.
" Despicable... Miss Thorne two years ago you were married to a certain Paul Muller?"
" Yes"
"Care to tell us why that relationship never saw the light of the day"
" He asked for a divorce , I haven't heard from him since that day"
" Your Honor, Miss Thorne here was seen three weeks after the divorce leaving the same building Paul used to live in, the next morning he was reported dead by his neighbor who claims to have had a key"
"I didn't kill him" Jane burst out crying.
"Miss Thorne did you or did you not visit Paul Muller that day"
"He invited me over and I went, I left early in order to go prepare for work the next day, I swear I didn't kill him"
" Report says that you and Mr Fischer had drinks late that day and you both were also seen cozying on the couch before you both left through the back door and Mr Fischer winds up dead an hour later"
"He was drunk, I swear when I left him, he was still very much alive"
" And when was that Miss Thorne, when exactly did you leave ..."
"It was still dark... and..."
"So do you retract your statement of only seeing Mr Fischer after he had been killed ?" she asked again in a more harsh tone.
"Were you drunk the night of the murder?"
"I had a little to drink"
"Did you take drugs on the night of the murder ?" she asked again
"I...."
"Did you take drugs on the night of the murder?" her tone harsher than the first time.
"Your honor badgering " Davis Standor her attorney cut in.
"She's badgering my client your Honor"
"I'm simply stating my case Mr Davis, your Honor defense should please be called to order "
"Objection overruled Mr Davis and i suggest you stay put or find yourself another court room" The judge said and then turned to the prosecutor.
" Medical test reports your Honor, which shows that Miss Thorne here had a significant amount of hydrocodone in her system, this proves that our accused is highly unstable and not a creditable witness and should therefore be denied bail for the rest of the trail Your Honor".
"Your Honor that result could have been gotten from anywhere" Davis said standing up.
"Miss Fletcher here is known for fabricating evidence when the need arises Your Honor, I suggest she's removed from this case, seeing that she has built this case based on a personal vendetta she has towards me"
"That is a very serious allegation Mr Davis do you have prove?"
"Of course he doesn't Mr Davis here is known to fabricate baseless allegations whenever he doesn't like he's opposing counsel and this court is not known Your honor for changing counsel simply because the opposing counsel does not like or cannot match who he's against"
"Your Honor..."
"That's enough...... The court would be adjourned and based on the concrete evidence provided by the Prosecutor, this trial would proceed without bail"
The judge turned to Davis and Fletcher with a stern glare.
"Both of you, my chambers now"!!!


IMAGE SOURCE