The Hardy Boys

in #story7 years ago

Hardy Boys
image.jpeg
Some of the first books I ever read were The Hardy Boys books. In fact, one of the reasons I like reading so much is because when I was three, my dad started buying The Hardy Boys books for my brother and I. He would buy these at yard sales, thrift stores and used book stores. He didn't end up finding them all, but most. Then, as I turned five, my dad began reading them to me. Each night he would read one or two chapters of a book to me.my only problem was that I had a hard time being patient enough to wait for the next night. So by the time my father was getting around to Book 4, I had convinced him to loan me the book for the day. And from then on out, I started to read the book by myself. By the time I was seven years old, I had finished reading all of the books that father had bought. And so, ever since then, one of my big faults has been that I find it very hard to put down a book once I've started reading it.

But the interesting story here, though, is about the Hardy Boys book series and how they came about. They were invented by Edward Stratemeyer, head of the Stratemeyer Syndicate, and were written by a large number of ghostwriters under the pseudonym 'Franklin W. Dixon'. The first ghostwriter was Leslie McFarlane. She wrote the first five books in the series under the dictation of Edward Stratemeyer. Leslie did not like the The Hardy Boys, in fact, her family said that Leslie despised the story and its characters. The Hardy Boys were a very popular series, and there were many different series that split from the original Hardy Boys books (paperback, comic, tv show, special additions). But one of the most famous things about The Hardy Boys is that all of the original fifty-eight books were written in about fifty years by only 20 authors, including Leslie McFarlane.

And now for the main event, my opinion. First of all, one of the things that I dislike about the series is the style they were write in. All of The Hardy Boys books are separate stories. I don't like how an event that occurred in one book has no effect on the next book. All of them are written like they are a separate timeline. For example; there are at least two winter books, both separated by at least five other books, but Frank and Joe Hard are still both 18 and 17. It really got on my nerves. But on the other hand, each and every book a well written timeline, so it was impossible to not enjoy the books a little bit. All in all, I think that The Hardy Boys series is a good series that I would recommend to any reader, young and old alike.

This is my story of why I like books so much, a summery of what I know about The Hardy Boys history, and my opinion of the series. If you liked this and want more, then please upvote, follow, and resteem. Thank You!!

Sort:  

Like you i was and still am an engrossed reader. Sadly dont recall The Hardy Boys....the books prolly werent translated to my language or just didnt stick here. I remember reading Famous Five when I was younger. Seems like ages ago. :) Of course over time taste changed and nowdays it seems i am pickier and pickier. Never stop reading. Books are a world of its own. :)

If you have heard of Nancy Drew, they are almost identical, but with boys as main character instead of a girl(Nancy Drew/ND).

My dad was able to buy a few ND for my sister, so I also read those after I had read all of the Hardy Boys!

I remember good times with the Hardy boys. Hold on to those they will have good collectors value.

Thanks for the advice!

Congratulations @abookworm! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @abookworm! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.

Congratulations @abookworm! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @abookworm! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!