A SWORD A KING AND A SQUIRE

in #story6 years ago (edited)

In the beginnings of a powerful reign, where men rose, who ruled with power, vision and wisdom.
There was one, which opened, a path of possibilities to all his predecessors named Saul.

I Saul son of Cisa of the tribe of Benjamin, while working in the yoke of my father, fulfilling the daily work routines, I decided to go with my servant, to record the oxen of my father. It was a simple and routine task, so without words, I began as usual, with that of unusual blue spots that always call my attention and which has caused in me, a kind of special affection, since it does not There is no way, that goes unnoticed by the inhabitants and neighbors around.

We started the work very early, fulfilling satisfactorily the census of all the oxen, and yes, it was really exhausting, to take them all to the corral, in order to count one by one, and then move them to graze, especially with green oak, an ox that is the alpha male of the corral, and who due to his high vitality, great size and superiority to the others, tries to dominate even his shepherds. But I knew it was not easy, since it was not the first time, so I knew that I had to bring pasture from the meadows of the Emón valley, which he loves and that with only its smell, it allows us to dominate
green oak as a baby, then take him to graze along with the rest of the herd.

But still it was not everything, since it also had to count the ewes, work that took us the double of time of the oxen due to the quantity that we owned, taking us a lapse of 6 hours approximately.

Once, finish with the sheep, I direct my gaze to my servant Arturo with deep fatigue, longing to desist from the day to continue the next day with the asses.

He, amazingly, just smiled at me with a mocking tone, saying:

"My Lord, do not give up now, when we still have 3 hours of daylight, the Donkeys are very few and your father asked me excautively that we did not leave work for tomorrow as he knows perfectly well that you were not going to do it, Please, my Lord! Let's finish this task now "

I must admit, that listening to these words rather than giving me encouragement, filled me with anger.

How is it possible! that my father, I trust more in a servant, than in me, his only begotten son

Obviously, as expected, anger flowed into my veins to my thoughts, which is why I decided to finish the job the next day, so that my father understood that neither my servant Arturo, nor any servant inferior to me, the heir of the Viña, could dominate my decisions, so I did not think about it anymore and in a second I commented with an authoritative tone of voice.

You just obey and go to your cabin! tomorrow we will continue with the asses.

How is it possible, sir? Arturo responds my servant, You know very well, that the donkeys we take them to the desert corral, there is no kind of grass, and how stubborn they are, they will surely flee in search of food, my Lord! Obey your father please and finish the task.

I SAID THAT NOT AND YOU OBEY ME, with an arrogant tone exclame him.

But he, without a doubt, is very persistent and I can not deny that he is also very loyal to my Father and the vineyard. Asking me that at least we could pass them to graze along with the rest of the flock. Idea that I really felt necessary, but if I bent there, surely I would not respect the rest of my days. So in no way did I consent and force him to go to his cabin.

The time has come!

It's time to finish the job, so get up very early, This time I can go one step ahead of Arturo and I will have the opportunity to dominate my authority over him, for being late for his work.

Very enthusiastic, I left my cabin setting course towards the desert corral.

CAN NOT BE! My father and Arturo were already together in the corral.

What's going on? I ask my servant Arturo ... A terrifying silence penetrated my ears, I could only hear the whisper of the wind and see my servant Arturo, who only nodded with a gesture of sadness and disappointment, but at the same time trying to console me with a tender and cheer up.

What's going on? I asked my father. I can not believe it Arturo! I entrusted you with one task and you could not do it well. With a very annoying and strong tone I express my father, and your Saul, go immediately to look for the asses, Arturo accompany him.

And immediately we went to the different tribes in search of my father's asses. More without having a favorable response from any of them, it can not be! How could my father's asses be lost?

Arthur just smiled, fixing his gaze on me and said:

"My Lord does not faint, If we will find them"

But we've been searching for them for several days, maybe my father is not worried about the asses and wants us to return. There is nothing else to do Arturo, prepare everything that we will return to the vineyard.

"My Lord, I agree with you, but in this city there is a prophet who can reveal where the donkeys are, let's get to him and surely something good will happen, here I carry with me a silver shekel which we can give to the prophet, as a reward for revealing the location of the donkeys”

It did not seem like a bad idea and once we went in search of the prophet, more to our surprise, the prophet went looking for us, and when we met, he fixed his gaze on me, as if analyzing my heart to the most hidden and remote corner of the city. my soul.

I did not understand why his aptitude, so strange, only took me to the highest point of the city, taking out a horn of oil, which empty on my head, announcing to all the people present.

HERE HAVE YOUR KING
AS?
I KING?
IT'S NOT POSSIBLE!

And so began my journey in the kingdom. The first years were extremely good, filled with many battles against enemy peoples. The reign surrounded me with important people, generals and the most powerful and wealthy people in the whole Kingdom.

They all paid me tribute. And they wanted to be by my side.

I fought great battles, along with my son Jonathan, and all with great victories. My arrogance reached extreme levels, and my boundless pride spread throughout the palace. The whole kingdom belonged to me and whoever tried to reveal himself or go against me, would suffer the great consequences of his disobedience and betrayal.

More came the day. !Yes! definitely, I understood that everything that goes up has to fall.

The kingdom fell in front of my worst enemies, all my generals fled my son died in front of the army so numerous that has besieged us, be alone, in front of a squire who never left me, and who never speak again in my amazing exploits or biography . Numerous dangers, bloody battles and numerous victories full of praise to the Great King of the twelve tribes. SAUL.

Thousands of settlers, peasants and merchants have longed to be every day with their great king, who admired, and praised without any reservations before the largest crowds and important roads and squares of the kingdom.

But not today, today in my fall you are only you. My no longer slave or servant. But friend and comrade of battles Arturo. We live together our journeys which I start with the asses. Today we finish our friendship and lives,

With a sword, a King and a faithful squire.