A day in the Job

in #story6 years ago

Hi there!

As I told you before I am a preschool teacher and I really enjoy what I do.

One day, I was just supervising the kids while they were on a break. And it was C R A Z Y, in this specific moment my job consist in not allowing them to “kill” each other and to actually make them enjoy that short moment of freedom.

My boss, of course the school’s Principal, it’s not very fond of the little ones and really really hate to be touch, he can only stand the basic hand shake. The day before we had a meeting in which he spent almost an hour explaining how nowadays it was very dangerous to “touch” a child, no matter their age, gender or whatever; and how we as teacher needed to be very careful with that. Therefore, he wanted to ban all types of touching between us teachers and our students -which is completely understandable and better for us. But there are some exceptions at least in what it is the relationship with the kids in preschool (for those of you who don’t know here in Colombia formal preschool begins at the age of 3 until the age of 6). Most kids at this age are eager to hug, kiss, snuggle, smooch and many others form of love they can express between each other and their teacher; I love this age because, for them, we are still their other mothers, heroes, role models, friends and much more. Therefore, telling them we couldn’t be touch, was impossible! And my boss understood that the “hard way” for him.

So, back to the break. There I was playing with the kids, when he came up to me and said: “How’s everything out here?” “Very well sir. It is nice to see you”. One of my most affectionate student came up to me and ask me who he was, and I introduce him to some of them who were nearby “Kids this is our Principal”. What happened then caught everyone there completely by surprise.

All the children, greet him and before anyone could have done anything, they gave him a huge hug to the point that they manage to take him down to the floor. Down there we were 4 teachers, none of us knew what to do, his face was priceless (imagine it half annoyed-upset and half embarrassed-asking for help). I was the first one to react “Hey kids, the Principal is lava!” and they all ran away from him screaming.

In what other job can be responsible for tackling your boss and be the hero who saved him? Love my job.

Mushkins_LI.jpg
Here they are some of the responsables. Photo taken by myself with my phone. Face covered in order to protect their identities!

Sort:  

I guess it is so fun to be a preschool teacher and so rewarding too. I wish to have that job someday

Hi @bhabykat ! If you really want to you can do it... My advice: work on your patience!