You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Ten-Minute / Five Hour Steemit Post...

in #story7 years ago (edited)

You're welcome. Tool are amazing - one of my favorite bands, but they're very particular about the albums they produce. They haven't released one since 10,000 Days in 2006.
I would highly recommend Lateralus; it's mind-blowingly good; who doesn't love a song based on the Fibonacci sequence?!

Sort:  

Fibonacci? Seriously? I will have to give that a listen! :D

Thanks for the added reference. ;)

Yep =)

"Counting between pauses, the syllables in Maynard James Keenan's vocals during the verses form the first few Fibonacci numbers, ascending and descending. For instance, in the first verse: "Black, then, white are, all I see, in my infancy. Red and yellow then came to be." correspond with the beginning of the sequence: (1, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8)."

"It was originally titled 9-8-7. For the time signatures. Then it turned out that 987 was the 16th number of the Fibonacci sequence. So that was cool."

source

You're welcome ^_^

Let me know what you think once you have given it a listen a time or two - I find that some albums take a while to really appreciate their beauty; take Ihsahn's AngL for examle: it gave me serious headaches listening to it the first few times. After a while, I realised the true genius of the avante garde mix of Black Metal and saxophones.