You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 10 Things I Learned From Being Homeless

in #story7 years ago

I don't believe in Minimum wage tho..Paying fast food workers 10 bucks an hour here, in AZ, is making it nearly un affordable to eat out at all anymore! Don't you realize that only leads to inflation? Those in Control, only raise the prices of ALL goods needed to survive, and tho you make more per hour, it takes MORE to survive! They KEEP Us broke, so we are Obedient Wage Slaves, and they are just waiting to replace everyone with Robots! I was Homeless before too, Thank God I found my way out, but it took awhile for sure..Most Everyone is one or two paychecks away from it..Living on the Edge..

Sort:  

I totally agree. Noone can survive on their own making minimum wage. It's nearly impossible. Note how I didn't even say live, I said survive

Homelessness in Arizona, Is a HUGE Problem! Go to YouTube, and type in "Life on the Street", and watch that...the Kids from ASU made the film, and there's a great one from 60 Minutes about Children living in Poverty, (which Skyrocketed Under Obama!) St. mary's Food Bank in PHX, is the Largest in the State, and they even take food clear up to the Navajo reservation way up by the Grand canyon, and that is NOT close to PHX! The small town where I work, Casa Grande,was chosen Most Charitable in the State, yet there is NO shelter anywhere for the Homeless? I have even read in various places, that The Gov't is Disappearing Homeless people from some places!! Rumors they are being taken to FEMA camps abound! This is entirely possible,IMO, as these People are the Most Vunerable in Our Society, yet they are almost Invisible at the same time, no one notices they are missing? You have to write more..:)

A man recently made headlines here. He is earning his degree at University of Washington. Has a part time job. Has been living in his car in the parking lot for three years. He can't afford to live on or off campus.

He eats in the dorms, showers in the gym. And is thankful every day because he knows it could be much worse.

I will check out the videos, thanks for the share.

I have two sister articles to this in the pipeline already :)

Thanks for reading! I look forward to learning and talking with you more, and growing together in this awesome community!

I was reading it yesterday, and I got to almost the end, and it froze for some reason, I couldnt get back til today..But it was on my mind all day, I remembered all my struggles, and the hopelessness I felt..was compelled to finish the story..Hope you like one of mine..

I left a comment on your intro ;)

And followed you