Where are you now?

in #story5 years ago (edited)

When I was in high school I had few friends and almost nobody paid much attention to me. I always ate lunch alone. So you can imagine how pleased I was when one day a girl came up to me and offered me some cookies. Her name was Robin. We hung out for a few weeks, until I fell hard for another girl and forgot all about Robin.  
A few years later I recognized her at a music store (remember those?), but I was much too shy to say hello. That was the last time I ever saw her. I have always regretted losing touch with her and often wonder how her life turned out. 


This memory inspired the following lyrics to a song titled "Where are you now?":  


Chorus:

Where are you now?  How have you been?
It's been so long, so many years,
but I still think about you.

Main song:  

It's clear in my mind the day when we met,
you were so kind, reached out to connect,
you were a light in a place of dark halls,
the many lonely souls of high school,
but we shared little time before we lost touch,
the light had dimmed out and this gift became lost
in the drama of life, the chaos of my mind.

 [chorus]

Some years had then passed, once again crossed our paths,
to reconnect I did intend but by you I went past, not speaking up alas.

[chorus]

At times I feel the regret,
why had I not acted   when the intention was there,
and sometimes I just wonder if I can ever mend this broken thread?

[chorus] x 2

It's clear in my mind the day when we met,
you were so kind, reached out to connect,
you were a light in a place of dark halls,
the many lonely souls of high school,
but we shared little time before we lost touch,
the light had dimmed out and this gift became lost
in the drama of life, the chaos of my mind.

 [chorus]

Some years had then passed, once again crossed our paths,
to reconnect i did intend but by you I went past, not speaking up alas.

[chorus] x 2

At times I feel the regret,
why had I not acted when the intention was there,
and sometimes I just wonder if I can ever mend this broken thread?


Any comments are welcome. If you enjoyed the lyrics and would like to use them, please let me know.  


Thank you,  
Bolko  Rawicz 



photo by Phil Roeder is licensed under CC by 2.0

Sort:  

This story was recommended by Steeve to its users and upvoted by one or more of them.

Check @steeveapp to learn more about Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface.

UpvoteBank
Your upvote bank
__2.jpgThis post have been upvoted by the @UpvoteBank service. Want to know more and receive "free" upvotes click here

Congratulations @bolko!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade for newcomers in the following category:

  • Upvotes - Ranked 1 with 403 upvotes

I also upvoted your post to increase its reward
If you like my work to promote newcomers and give them more visibility on the Steem blockchain, consider to vote for my witness!

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 11.16% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com