Bringing back Your 15 year old self to the Future (Lets call him Junior )

in #story7 years ago (edited)

I know that thoughts generated at a Urinal do not seem credible. But as i stand here, relieving myself, I am reminded of another such urinal at a different place and a different time, when i was in my previous organisation. I was thinking about how low my pay is and how demanding the work load is. Another time, another place - My college - where I am waiting for my interview results at a campus drive. And the one where i was in High school, the only thing on my mind was Derivatives-and-integration and how to get my hands on the Counterstrike again.


<image credit : cliparts.zone>

What if

What if I can some how pull that 15 year old self into current timeline, just to observe and realize how things have turned out.
(my 15 year old self is too much to write, lets call 'him - 'Junior').
Junior will be amazed at things that he is about to see.

Is this impossible to achieve, or does it fall under 'very difficult' ?

Surely i know how the future unfolded, and it will be very easy - for the sake of a younger personality - for me to forget whatever has happened in the last 15 years (i am 30).
To forget the major events and just move around in autopilot seems do-able.

So I close my eyes and open them again. POP I am a fifteen year old kid, in a 30 year old body zipping up and wondering - "Wow I think I am a bit taller now"
As Junior, I move out (after washing my hands of course) and look around.

Where is this place, looks like an office, what year is it.


<image credit : Sitepoint.com >

My feet take me to my desk. Some people wave at me, some wink. I reply back and realize i am just an observer. My Senior is moving around and seems to know his way. I am just an audience to his world, looking through his eyes and listening through his ears.

I wonder at his speed in typing, what all would he have gone through to achieve this grip on some database code. Some people come over to ask for help and my senior helps them out. Sometimes he takes time to understand the problem, other times he just shouts out the solution before the problem is completely laid out.

Maybe he is showing off. Surely he is aware of me. The past leading upto the future is a blur in his memory. There are deaths in the family, but many more births. Some close friends are no longer close and new friends are all so cool.

The pay, the life and my attire have all improved. I still dont take good care of my health so that is unchanged.

The work day ends and traveling back to home I find out that we have shifted to a new area. I wonder what my home is like now. I love my current home but maybe this one is better.

<image credit : cqwb.info>

I see an apartment building instead of a row house. An indifferent neighborhood as opposed to my nosy, but closer-than-your-family neighborhood. I press the bell and see my father opening the door. It looks like he was expecting me, and he resumes his place at the sofa with his is eyes on the TV. Wow what a resolution on that thing!.
This sight reminds me of Frasier's Dad - Martin Crane.

My mom asks me about my day and i am so glad to have them both at this place. I move to my room to change and see a very beautiful woman preparing some sort of a pillow cover. My Wife looks up and asks me if i need something to eat. I am drowned with emotions as this life is more than i would have ever imagined or planned.

This is more than what i can handle and Junior vanishes away.

I hug my wife and come out to the hall for dinner. Then i watch TV with my family sharing all the good things we had and what all we had lost.

This little thought gave me so much to appreciate and so less to worry. Sure it could have gone wrong in so many ways, but we should always thank God for all that we have now.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bookmanpage from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Yow... Interesting story and thoughts