You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reminiscing

in #story2 years ago

Wait, so are you there now or you were there in 2016? Or both? :) Either way, that is pretty awesome. Nothing tropical for me, but I was sitting on the deck on Sunday because the temperatures were actually in the 60's and I ended up getting sunburned on my head! I only mention that because it was so nice to be out on the deck that I didn't notice or care (at the time). I guess that could be considered paradise. I think I was thinking about where we should move to, so I am not sure if that counts though! :)

Sort:  

We haven't been down there since 2020 but hope to get back this fall, possibly. : ) I'm glad to hear the weather's breaking in your corner of the world! When I talked to my Mom this morning we realized it was twice as warm in Ohio (68) as it was here in Sedona (33) this morning. Such crazy weather this year!

I think we CAN be happy anywhere but some places take more effort than others. : )

We have some storms coming in today and I think the temps are going to drop back down for the weekend. Back in the 40's last I looked. It has been pretty crazy so far this year. Even the Winter wasn't really the Winter I expected. My biggest thing lately is trying to appreciate every day. I feel like I look forward to the weekends so much and then they are here and gone, I'm wasting a lot of time living for the weekend and I likely have less days ahead of me than I do behind me, so they are precious.

What a roller coaster! That's how it's been in MN too. We're praying that the temps stabilize a bit before we head back on the 22nd.

Oh man, I remember those days vividly. I had over twenty years of living for the weekends and it makes time speed by. Changing your mindset is truly the key but it's so easy to lose focus. I've noticed it's like reoccurring amnesia. I find that even after all these years I'm in a constant state of refocusing on the moment and gratitude. I don't expect that'll ever change.

You're not giving me much hope! I guess that is just part of being human. If it wasn't there wouldn't be songs and poems and movies about enjoying the little moments. Having a 9 to 5 (or thereabouts) definitely makes it hard. When you work all day and then go home just to go to bed it doesn't leave you much time to savor the little things! I'll be there soon I hope. I am jonesing for a trip to the East Coast within the next couple of years.

Oh, sorry! I didn't mean it's not attainable but it's just like herding sheep. You have to constantly remind yourself to stay focused on the moment and gratitude. Life's irritations and drama has a way of seeping through the cracks. There's some great camping up and down the east coast. We use to take our pop-up camper along the coast of New England and made some of the best memories. There was a camp ground called "The Boston Hub" and we used to use that as a home base to make little trips into the city. That was back in the 80's, I'm not even sure if it's still there.

Yeah, I was commenting more on the US work system than I was on your advice. :) The current system we live in makes any of that stuff hard. I am still on the fence about whether we will go the camping route when we go or do the hotel thing. I remember camping in Bar Harbor when I was a kid and that was pretty awesome. Like the idea of having our little car to zip around in though!