"The Moon Is A Harsh Mistress" by Robert A. Heinlein ~Book Review~

in #story7 years ago (edited)

"The hardest part about gaining any new idea is sweeping out the false idea occupying that niche.... But once the niche is emptied ... once you can honestly say, "I don't know", then it becomes possible to get at the truth."
- Robert A. Heinlein

I have been a science fiction fan for as long as I can remember.

As early as the second grade, I would comb the library shelves, looking for the books with the little rocket label on the jacket.

The Moon Is A Harsh Mistress

The Moon Is A Harsh Mistress
Image by James Vaughan and http://flickr.com

It was inevitable therefore,

that I would encounter the work of Robert Heinlein, “Dean of American Science Fiction Writers.” Although I have many and considerable differences from the man, I have devoured Heinlein's stories since childhood. My favorite among them all is "The Moon Is A Harsh Mistress."

Robert Heinlein was a maverick. A graduate of Anapolis, his naval career was terminated after about nine years by tuberculosis.

After trying a variety of occupations, Heinlein discovered that he could make a living writing science fiction. He wrote quite a few stories aimed at juveniles, but "The Moon" is a very adult novel.

The Moon Is A Harsh Mistress

The Moon Is A Harsh Mistress
Photo courtesy of NASA and http://unsplash.com

“The Moon Is A Harsh Mistress” tells a tale of revolution.

In this story of the future, the Moon has been used as a penal colony, a dump for the dregs of society.

Much like Australia, however, years pass, and free children are born to the prison inmates. Luna becomes its own country, more or less, but remains under the tyrannical control of the "Lunar Authority, led by “The Warden.”

The Moon Is A Harsh Mistress

The Moon Is A Harsh Mistress
Photo courtesy of NASA and http://unsplash.com

Computer repairman Mannie is the hero of the piece.

The best computer tech there is on Luna, the Warden has no choice but to hire Manuel Garcia O'Kelly when Lunar Authority's computer breaks down.

Mannie discovers that the Warden's computer is sentient, and with the help of Professor Bernardo de la Paz and the lovely Wyoming Knott, before long a revolution is brewing. The interplay of the main characters, including an aware computer, and how it all works out in the end make for a fascinating story.

In my opinion, this novel represents the pinnacle of Heinlein's career. I have read my own dog-eared copy a dozen times, if once. The story is filled with adventure, heartache, family values, romance, and some good, hard, extrapolative science.

The underlying message of "The Moon" is a powerful one of peace, freedom, and prosperity. It becomes clear that such values are all optimized by a distributed, cooperative society that has no need for "rulers." This is a message that the world needs to hear now, more than ever.


~FIN~


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

I am ashamed to admit I have not read that book yet. I have read a lot of Asimov, and while I enjoy his writing, I rather dislike some of his political positions when they do emerge. Heinlein's books are also well-written, and I have enjoyed the ones I have read. While I rather disagree with the politics of Starship Troopers, I know TMIAHM is quite different, and his inclination does tend to lean rather libertarian more often that not.

"The Moon" is actually a pretty quick read - as novels go, not that long. Probably just long enough to tell the story. I like it so well that I of course wish it were longer. In the book, it is the Professor who is most clearly the one who has thought it all through. He describes himself as a "rational anarchist."

As I said in my review, my thinking differs from Heinlein. Heinlein himself, like anyone who lives for a time, changed considerably in his own thinking as time went on. However, he undoubtedly was a brilliant thinker and writer, and undoubtedly influenced my own life and thought. I'm most grateful to him for many, many hours of pleasurable entertainment.

the idea of a small community under the control of a computer reminds me of a novel Deb gave me when we were dating. I was a rental agent for an apartment building complex that had a nearly full occupancy, so I had a lot of time to sit and read. The novel was called Cybernia and I loved it--maybe because Deb bought it for me. I often wondered why it wasn't made into a film, but later discovered that Donnie and Marie Osmond owned the rights. Seems they never did anything with it...too bad.

Hmmm... I have not heard of that one. It looks like Cybernia is out of print, but available used.

Curious too that the Osmonds would own film rights and not use them. :O

I've read starship troopers by Robert Heinlein. He's an interesting writer.
By the way, great book review. I look forward to more posts from you.

Thanks for stopping to comment. If you have a chance, read "The Moon." Awesome. ;)

It's no problem! I enjoy reading your posts.
Ill try to see if I can borrow it from a local library.

This book is so good that my non-scifi liking girlfriend loved it :)

That's a really great recommendation! I can't get my wife to read any science fiction.

Thanks for stopping by! :)

As a teenager I loved "Stranger in a Strange Land". I haven't read him for decades, but I'll have to look out for this one.

I'm sure you'll get a big kick out of it!

Thanks for stopping in.

The career of Heinlein is unjustly ignored and most people (including me) could only refer to Starship Troopers (thanks to the movie) before to discover the 2014`s Predestination movie based on a short story of his. Your article confirms me that Heinlein has a lot more to offer.

Thanks for stopping by and commenting, @herverisson.

I particularly appreciate your mention of Predestination, which I was not familiar with. I will have to find and watch that.

I have often wished they would make a movie of "The Moon Is A Harsh Mistress," and I've heard one is in the works to be released sometime this year.