Dresden Files - Book 8 Proven Guilty

in #story7 years ago

I just finished reading Proven Guilty.

The further I get into the Dresden Files, the more I am loving this book series.

I really can't get enough, and I am starting to dread how close I am getting to the end of the series considering it looks like Jim Butcher only writes a new one every two or three years.

The Brother connection is an interesting twist in the plot and so far I have liked it, but I really can't see exactly how this can play out.

I love Murphy. It always seems like something bad is going to happen to her. She is such a tough character and and an important part of the story line that I am afraid she is going to get killed off or written off like the ex-girlfriend.

Michael is easily my favorite secondary character. I honestly can't remember the last time I have seen a Catholic character portrayed positively in a popular novel series, let alone so thoughtfully and powerfully.

I am not sure what to make of the Fairies and the Nevernever. The more information that comes out about it, the more seems to be obscured.

The action in the books is really awesome. I keep catching myself thinking that it is a bit over the top, but I have to admit, it keeps me interested and coming back for more. I do wish that the author got a little more advice on firearms though. Since that is an area of particular interest for me, I always feel like he is lacking a bit. He hasn't been getting anything wrong or making any rookie mistakes, but he doesn't quite get the models or descriptions right, and I am always picky about that.

The entire series always feels like it is building up to something bigger. Not sure what to think here, and I hope he doesn't take it too far, otherwise it will just start to get a little lame as he is constantly raising the bar until it gets past absurdity.

For right now though, I am having a great time, and looking forward to the next book - White Knight!!!