The Great Gardens of the God of Worlds - 17

in #story5 years ago (edited)

The decision.jpg

"I am still grumpy and sleepy long after I was woken up with a start by Lijdel who wanted to leave as soon as possible. I haven't even been able to enjoy a real nap, and I'm starting to have trouble keeping up with this daily rhythm of walking and little sleep. But I don't dare complain, I'm far too impressed by Lijdel, who, I think, would look at me with an overwhelming look of disdain if I made the slightest whining.
She has said nothing since we left Brann's house, immersed in her thoughts, and we move silently into the peaceful countryside of her country, Arkin. Nothing, from its green hills of fields and forests, reveals the tragedy that threatens this region.

At lunchtime, however, Lijdel took the floor to ask me questions, without any detour. For the first time since we met, perhaps to entertain her mind for a few moments about the responsibilities they face, she asks me what my world is like...
So I try to tell her : cities, cars, computers... Lijdel remains imperturbable, so I don't know if she believes me, or thinks I'm crazy.
"Your world seems very strange... "is the only remark she reveals. I must admit that walking with Lijdel for a few days now, the evocation of my memories indeed revives a very strange world, and which now seems far too distant.
So, to avoid being overwhelmed by emotion, I ask Lijdel a question in turn :
_ And what do we do, after all? Shall we go get that famous sword? Have you decided ? »
Her gaze is lost far away, and her face expresses a kind of weary sadness.
_Yes. We're going to get the sword. I've been spinning this around in my head all the time since we left, but Brann is right, it's probably the only thing left for us to avoid being crushed by one of the two empires. »
She's looking at me this time :
_And for you, it may be a hope, too. There is no one else but the Witch Lords to know so much about the Worlds. If anyone knows how to get you back in yours, it's them. »

Note : since now, I will post the story before the step-by-step drawing, in order to keep more surprise with the story...