You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Sourdough Journey

in #story2 years ago

So sorry for only replying now. Things on this side have been hectic.

Yes, I love to add additional flours into the mix. I normally use a mixture between whole wheat, barley, and rye flour. If I use 1000g of total flour I usually add 800g of white and 200g of my mixture. I usually sell this as my "country loaf".

Yes, totally agree with that! Do not skip any steps. I have also tried but I have always failed. The most important thing to have is a very active levain. If you get to know your starter, you will have a solid idea of how to get an active levain.

(This is just my process if you want to read it, if not please just skip this! So normally I feed the starter the night before. The next morning, I use a 1:2:2 ratio of starter, water, flour in proportion to the dough. Say I want 20% starter, and I make 1000g batch, the 200g starter will be 40g:80g:80g starter, water, flour. The 1:2:2 ratio gets the starter really active! I hope this rambling helps a bit, if you read it and want more clarity or anything please ask! I will gladly share what I have learned maybe it can help you.)

If you have not yet started, best of luck on the second batch.

If you have started, how did it go?

Sort:  

No worries at all! Your advice is very helpful and I appreciate it! I've been feeding my starter religiously and will attempt my second bake within the next couple of days. I won't be following any recipes that use shortcuts this time so, hopefully, my luck will be a little different. I'll report back as soon as the bread is done! Thanks!

Please do that will be awesome! Best of luck, and yes, follow that advice: no shortcuts! I wait to hear from you, or to read a post about it! You can always tag me if you prefer!