They were always with me | Short Story

in #story6 years ago

I was studying in the High Pylon Senior Secondary School. The day was just like the other days; I was having fun in our class, talking, laughing and chattering with friends. They were those kinds of friends that usually wanted to get you in trouble, but were always volunteering to get you out of it too. Everything seemed so merry.

I was in the ninth standard, a standard which is considered one of the most important for our educational life. But instead of borrowing books from my friends, I was having a blast with them. And I did that every day. But, today, a thing was different.

In our last class, which was supposed to be Geography, our all-time favorite teacher didn’t arrive. Instead, a slim man with blond hair, slightly crooked nose, appeared. His face suggested that he was that kind of teacher which was able to get their students scared from the first moment. And I felt that too. That he would be bad for my friendship, and for the good times I had been having.

As soon as he entered the class, everyone went silent. The new teacher had his head low, the blond hair blocking the view of his head. And this position had a creepy feeling to it. I was certain that something was very wrong with this teacher.

He came inside the class, didn’t say anything and went to the teacher’s table. He sat down on the chair, and rested his head on the table. A position which other teachers referred to as ‘head down’ position.

The class went on like this, until finally the bell rang, and it was over for the day. As soon as the bell had rung, everyone had leapt towards the door, as if wanting to get as far away as possible from this new teacher, who was still in the head down position on the table. So, I let the others go first and soon found out that I was alone in the class. And that was the thing that changed everything for me.

I started towards the door, when all of a sudden, it closed automatically and all the curtains covered the windows. It had all happened in a blink of his eye. One moment I had been moving towards the door, and the other moment everything had closed and the classroom was now engulfed in darkness.

My heart-beat reached an impossible rate. It was impossible for the door and the curtains to close automatically, and all at once! I turned around to say something to the new teacher, but to my horror the teacher’s table was completely empty. He had been there a few seconds ago, and now he was gone as if vanished into thin light.

The fear that was dwelling inside my body kept me frozen in my place. The things that were happening would have to be a dream. I was continuously hoping that at any second, I would wake up in my bedroom, yawing loudly. But that didn’t happen. I stood frozen by fear, and nothing seemed to move at all. My heart was thumping against my chest.

Then something caught my eye. At the opposite corner of the classroom, a dark silhouette was sitting on a bench. It was completely black because of the scarcity of light. I recognized that it was a girl or lady, as she had her hair covering her face. Her head was positioned towards me, as if she was watching me lay frozen at my place.
Choking gags started to escape my mouth. Everything was so horrible that I felt that I should die right there, right now. And the silhouette was so creepy that I gave away. I ran madly towards the door and started beating it as hard as I could. It was possible that the watchman would hear the beating and come to rescue him.

Then a sound reached my ear, it was the silhouette. She was giggling, still looking towards me. The sound was the creepiest thing that I had encountered till now. It was those kinds of giggling that you would see in a horror movie. I stopped, either by the curiosity or fear; that I didn’t know, but I stopped, and turned around, my back pressing tightly against the door.

Then, in a blur of motion, she should up. I realized that she was a lot bigger than what I had expected. I felt the hair on my neck starting to stand up. Then she started advancing towards me, giggling louder than before as she took a step towards me. I could do nothing; fear had caught hold of me.
The fear gave way to panic, and once again I started beating the door. And suddenly, it opened and I fell on the other side. I didn’t even think for a moment, and tried to get up, stumbled, tried again, again stumbled and tried again. This time, I was able to get back on my feet.

I didn’t waste a moment, and started running towards the exit. While running, I peeked inside the class for a last time, and realized that the silhouette was not there anymore.

Without giving it another thought, I continued running towards the exit. On the way, I encountered no one, but had a feeling that somebody was watching me, from behind the windows of the classrooms. And the giggling sound never left me alone.

I ran and ran and ran, but that horrible sound seemed to be coming from all directions. It was as if I was myself going into a trap that the ghost had set up, and that was why she was giggling. But, I was not even sure if it really was a ghost or not. She seemed much like humans, except that she was behaving like a ghost.

While running, I looked back and saw that she was there. The same dark silhouette of a girl. She was not running or even moving, she just stood there, shoulders jumping slightly as she giggled.

Whatever was happening to me, it had started to make me go mad. It was the worst day I had ever had in my life. And for whom would it have been a good day? A ghostly girl was following you everywhere, wherever you go. It would surely make everyone crap there pants out.

But, I ran. That was all I could do. My mind had started to go numb, and was not able to figure out anything. It was as if I was under a hypnotizing spell. I realized that I was about to reach the door, when a whispery voice said, “We didn’t gave you the permission to leave!” It had been a men’s voice, filled with anger and hatred. It seemed to be coming from every direction all at once.

Ignoring what the man said, I continued running and in a moment, reached the exit. But, to my horror it was locked, it wouldn’t budge. I started beating it, crying out with the top of my lungs for someone to help. But, no one answered. The giggling was now louder than ever.

“Help me!” I cry, as hard as I could. I had screamed so hard that I doubted if it even was possible.

I turned back, and saw the girl was standing right in front of me, so close that I could feel her breath. I froze, she was now closer than ever, and I knew that it was all over for me.

She started whispering something. I didn’t understand what she was saying, it was from a foreign language, but it certainly gave me creeps. She started advancing towards me, and my heart started jumping in my chest. Fear and panic seized me, and I started beating the door wildly.

She gripped my shoulder; the grip was so strong that I was pinned to the door, chest striking against it. She was certainly inhuman; no one in the world could have a grip so strong. Waves of pain started hitting my body. It was totally unbearable.

“We will not leave you alone, wherever you go!” she said, in the same horrible whispery voice. And then, suddenly in a moment, my shoulder was free. I turned around and saw that no one was there.

Suddenly, the exit opened, and a man came in. I recognized him as the watchman, and relief filled my body and mind.
“What the hell are you doing here?” he said, and without saying a word I ran out of the horrible building. I ran, without even glancing back at the building. I ran, not sure if I would ever come back here.

But, one thing she had said turned out to be correct. They never left me or my life alone. Wherever I went, they were there, following me, giggling just as before. The incident at the school turned my life miserable. I always had to live with them. I was not able to sleep because of the feeling that somebody was lying beside me on my bed.

Whatever had happened on that day, it was the reason I went nuts. And on one day, not able to take this anymore, I hanged myself from the ceiling.

THE END