You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reinvent Yourself (free book giveaway)

in #story7 years ago

I bought a copy of Reinvent Yourself and read it in a weekend, taking time to make notes and jot down some of his tips. Went to work the next morning with a sense of purpose, that purpose being that I am now committed to leaving my dead-end cubicle job by the end of this year. Within two weeks I had applied for and accepted a freelance marketing position that is taking up a huge chunk of my weekends and evenings--but it's generating an extra 3 or 4 hundred dollars EVERY week. I now realize that I could afford to go freelance full-time, working from my home, if I were to pick up another 3 or 4 similar freelance clients. With all of the extra income I'll bring in this year, I can retire from the rat race by Christmas and work on only those projects I love. I love Altucher's new book and can't recommend it enough. I read the Power of No (great book) but haven't read Choose Yourself. Will remedy that oversight right away!

Sort:  

I really love to hear stories like this. I admire your courage, @florentina! Best of luck in reaching your goals!