'A Free Lunch' - Steemit Story Chain #13 Where You Write the Story and 100 Whaleshares for the Winner

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Wads of twenty pound banknotes.jpg

Welcome to the Steemit Story Chain

Good evening to all of you gorgeous Steemers, I hope you are well. It's time for another Steemit Story Chain where I invite you all to continue writing a story that I will start. For the Steemer who writes the most compelling and original part of the story there are 100 Whaleshares to be won.

I want to say a huge thank you to all of those who took part in the last story chain, particularly to @dreamingirwin, @lucyridingmoosey, @ipahriff, @byn, and @thatindianlady. Your efforts were very impressive. After a lengthy decision making process me and @nikflossus have now decided a winner.

234592363-congratulations-clip-art-free-clipart-images-2-clipartcow.gif

@byn

You wrote a very engaging piece with a lot of effort put in. Your writing style is clearly solid. Close behind you was @dreamingirwin who wrote a good action piece enabling the reader to really picture the scene. And then next up was @ipahriff who wrote a nice tightly introduction with a good open ended climax.

The winner, @byn, has won 100 Whaleshares. Please reply with your Bitshares account information and I will send the Whaleshares to your account immediately. Enjoy! If you don't have an account don't worry it's very simple and completely free to set one up here - https://bitshares.openledger.info/?r=akrid-1.

A reminder of the winning entry is featured below.

The cold air hit me as the back door was wrenched open. I cringed against the assault I knew was coming, but I would not go willingly. I had made up my mind. This would stop tonight. One way or another.

I had never used my powers for evil, for bad, for causing anyone pain, but now it was out of my hands. They would force me to commit all kinds of atrocities if I didn't get the upper hand and if that was going to happen, it needed to happen soon.

I let my body go limp as I felt a hand grab my arm. Without any hesitation, he just grabbed me and pulled me bodily from the car until my body slumped to the ground. I felt a sharp pain in my ribs from his boot, "Get the hell up. This is no time for games! You're coming with us now, whether you like it or not." He kicked her again and she grunted in pain. It was just too much.

The other guy came around the car, "Hey, watch it. We still need her alive and conscious for now. Just carry her and let's go. I'm ready to be away from all of this creepy shit."

She felt herself being lifted and she gathered all of her strength within herself. She could feel the power pulsing through her veins and she concentrated even harder. She ignored the pains in her body that came with every new jostling footstep. She ignored the tears streaking down her face and focused everything she had inward. The only way this was going to work is if she could get it together and pull out more power than they could possibly have. Then she needed to get out, if she still could, take her doll and get back to... to whatever was in store for her. Whatever happened, she refused to be a pawn in this game for these people. This evil that she could feel surrounding all of them... she couldn't be a part of it.

She felt more than saw them come upon a clearing. Suddenly the air felt clear. There were no more branches clawing at her as he walked. She just felt air. She waited until he sat her down and then opened her eyes just slightly. There was a pair of black boots just a few inches from her eyes. She let her gaze travel upwards... it was worse than she expected.

She had known that he had to have a hand in this horrible game. He was the most powerful one in the city, if not the country. But he was pure evil. If he needed her powers, that could only mean bad things. If he didn't have enough power for what he wanted to accomplish and he needed her? Crap. That meant something REALLY big and REALLY bad was about to go down.

She focused inside herself once again and suddenly felt her head jerked back brutally. "Don't think I don't know what you're trying to do," His face was inches from hers and she was terrified. She could feel the evil coming off of him in waves, coating her with the stench of it. He laughed and spittle flew from his mouth onto her face. "You think you can get one over on me? Well that's just fine. You just tell our highly esteemed guests that you aren't going to cooperate. Let's see what they have to say, shall we?"

He picked her up by her hair and forced her to turn slowly around. She saw people huddled near a large fire built in the middle of the clearing. Ten, maybe twenty people, maybe more. They mostly looked lost or scared or maybe just cold. No one made a sound. Not one would make eye contact with her as this man held her up and made her look around the circle.

"I think there's someone right here that you'll want to see... why don't you tell them they're out of luck? Huh? Why don't you tell THEM that you're not going to do EXACTLY as I say?"

She stared through her tired eyes until they came into focus on three children huddled together. They'd been crying and now they watched her.

He had captured her children. Her babies.

She could only escape now if she found a way to beat him at him own game...


Now let's move on to this week's new story chain A Free Lunch. If you fancy a go at writing a part of the story then please first you must upvote and resteem this post. I have written the first part of the story, then it is down to you to use the comment box below and move the story on. Be creative and original. You can change the genre from one part to the next if you wish, it is entirely up to you. A short paragraph or two is all we are after. And remember to number which part of the story you are writing.

WhaleShares300.jpg

This contest is sponsored by Whaleshares and I owe a big thank you to @akrid and @officialfuzzy. I would also like to thank @blocktrades for making Whaleshares possible. There is 100 Whaleshares for the winning entry. If you would like to learn more about Whaleshares and how they can significantly increase your post rewards please visit https://steemit.com/whaleshares/@eirik/guide-on-how-to-use-whaleshares-updated-version where @eirik will gladly explain more to you.

The very talented @nikflossus will be helping me decide which one of your contributions is worthy of the winning prize. We are looking for:

  • A strong sense of imagination
  • Creative intelligence
  • Originality
  • Narrative fluidity (ensuring the story chain links smoothly)
  • Use of language, grammar and syntax (we need to understand what you're saying!)

The winner will be announced in a week's time. A new post will be published then announcing the winner along with a new story chain.

Now here is part one of A Free Lunch.

It had been a long and shitty morning in the office. Far too many colleagues and clients all getting on my nerves. I was so grateful to be in the park, enjoying some winter sunshine on my lunch break. I was just about to tuck into my salted beef and mozzarella panini when a thin and gaunt looking man sat down beside me on the bench. He wore a very smart navy blue suit and his after-shave was very strong. He had a tanned leather briefcase. He had a professional manner about him. 'I am happy to pay for your lunch', he said softly. Puzzled by this I replied, 'Why would you buy me lunch?' He turned to me, he looked very serious but not menacing. 'I'll give you another £250,000 also' he stated. He put the briefcase on the bench and opened it. There was a lot of money inside. Excited and worried I asked, 'But what do you want?' He said, 'I need you to do me a small favour, one which is perfectly legal'.

Sort:  

continuation of part 4

Part 5

I was tense and all of the happenings seemed to be a vision or a dream. Was it real? I kept checking and looked down at the box I was holding. I wondered if I should hand over the box to the police but the fear of being attacked afterwards seemed too real.

This was worse than a nightmare. I kept wondering how this could have happened when other office workers were present or were they unable to 'see' this whole thing happening. I must have been watching too many science fiction movies. My step slowed down as I approached my favourite cafe. I stepped in and sat down at a table and ordered my coffee and snacks. I placed the briefcase on the chair beside me and started to enjoy my coffee. I should consult my neighbor, maybe. She was a psychiatrist. She would help me decide what to do.

Then, it happened all so suddenly. A lady, dressed in shining robes, came to sit beside me. She eyed me and told me to not to speak to my neighbor about the suitcase. I nearly spit the coffee. How did she know what I was thinking?

Evil shall spread if you reveal about the box. Keep it safe. That is all that we ask of you. You need not worry about your safety. You shall have disturbing visions but it will never be real. You will be directed at the right time. She vanished. I looked around startled but no one seemed to have noticed her presence at all, or for that matter her sudden disappearance.

my bitshares id is ds995 just in case I win, :)

resteemed and upvoted

Hey @sayee thanks for your contribution to the story chain, the winner has just been announced and a new story chain has begun - https://steemit.com/story/@freedomexists/the-absent-gentleman-steemit-story-chain-14-where-you-write-the-story-and-100-whaleshares-for-the-winner

Part 2

He closed the case with a decisive 'snap' and pulled a small box out of his pocket. It looked to be about the size of a ring box, and my confusion grew. He held it out with a shaking hand and pressed it into my palm. His other hand curled my fingers around the box and held them tight until I accepted it and held the box tight.

"Very good. Now, what you'll need to do now is..."

I interrupted, "Now wait a minute. I haven't agreed to do anything!"

"Listen here, youngster. You've accepted my box, it's in your hand right this minute. Now do what you're told and you will get to keep all the cash in this case. Refuse me and you'll regret it." He paused and met my eyes. His eyes were stern, intimidating in some way that I couldn't explain. "I don't have much time, so you'll have to listen and stop interrupting me."

I nodded mutely, my eyes not leaving the little ring box in my hand. This suddenly seemed incredibly serious and well out of my control. How did I get myself into these things?

"Now, here's what you have to do. You will take this box home and sleep with it under your pillow for three nights. On the fourth morning, you will wake up and deliver the box. You must follow your directions perfectly. This box has incredible power that you can't imagine. Deliver it into the wrong hands and evil will prevail. Deliver it correctly and the world will be safe for a time, once again. I am counting on you." He stood up and pushed the briefcase close enough to touch my thigh.

"Wait, What directions? You didn't give me any directions!"

He stared at me with that way of his and just said, "You'll know. You'll see your choices in your dreams. Each night will be a different dream and then you'll know." His voice grew urgent, "PLEASE pay attention... it's in your hands now."

And he turned and hurried away as fast as an old man can...

Hey @byn thanks for your contribution to the story chain, the winner has just been announced and a new story chain has begun - https://steemit.com/story/@freedomexists/the-absent-gentleman-steemit-story-chain-14-where-you-write-the-story-and-100-whaleshares-for-the-winner

Thank you so much! I've never used bitshares and had to set up an account. What information do you need, other than the user name? Bitshares says my usename is my deposit address, so I assume all you need is the username byn-always? Let me know if you need anything else. Thanks again!

Hi @byn, yes that is all the information I need. I have just transferred your Whaleshares. Congratulations again. If you would like to learn more about Whaleshares and how to use them come and find me or any of the mods on the Whaleshares server on Discord.

Thank you so much!

Part 3
I spent the rest of the day in a blur of anxiety, checking my pocket for the box every few minutes and and making endless clerical errors as I worried about the large briefcase of cash I was resting my feet on, under my desk. Nothing even remotely exciting ever happened to me. In fact my life seemed to have barely any drama at all these days, so when my boss called me in to talk about my promotion I was so nervous I could barely speak in whole sentences.

And then suddenly it was 5 o clock and I was free. I hurried home, skipping the bus and instead taking the briefcase to the toilet, locking myself in a cubicle and taking a crisp twenty pound note out of the briefcase to pay for a taxi.

Feeling very much like a spy I asked the taxi to stop two streets away from my house. I didn't want to be followed. From there I got my key ready in my hand and walked briskly home with my head down. I opened the door, stepped inside, closed it behind me, locked the door and bolted it. I breathed a sigh of relief and was about to head for the kitchen when someone behind me spoke.

'Excuse me love,' said a man's voice,' Sorry to startle you. But you're going to need to put that briefcase down.'

I turned to see a balding man with a kind face step out of my dining room. He was still wearing his coat. Quickly I reached for the door handle.

'Lads,' he said, almost casually. Four black clad men in masks burst out of my kitchen and fanned out behind the man, each one keeping a pistol pointed at my head.

'Also,' he said, smiling apologetically, 'we're going to need that... thingy you've got in your pocket.'

Hey @yardley-elbert thanks for your contribution to the story chain, the winner has just been announced and a new story chain has begun - https://steemit.com/story/@freedomexists/the-absent-gentleman-steemit-story-chain-14-where-you-write-the-story-and-100-whaleshares-for-the-winner

Part 4

Before the bald man had finished saying the word pocket. I had not only unlock the door but it was open and I was heading out. Yet I had barely taken a few steps, when i noticed the large grasping hand heading right for my throat. Before I could react, I was lifted off my feet. Which were now frantically kicking, like that of a child being forced into time out. I was now staring into the eyes of large dark skin man with white skin blotches covering his face. His nose deformed like that of a retired fighter. The discoloration in his left eyebrow, seemed to draw attention away from the large scar just above it. Though he too was smiling at the beginning of our encounter. His demeanor quickly changed , when one of my kicks landed him in the groin. Sharp pains ran down my spine, as this two tone angry giant carried me back into the house. He slammed the door behind him with his free hand. Then sent me flying towards the living room couch.

I hit the floor with a hard thump, my arms bringing with me anything I could grab. I lay there with my eyes closed, in the fetal position, gasping for air. Reaching into my pocket and pulling out the box. I desperately stretch out my hand holding up box and screaming, "Take the it! Take it all!. I'm sorry!" There was silence. "Take it!, I said again. Yet there no response. I opened my eyes and looked up. As my eyes regain focus, I realized I was staring at the underside of a desk. I looked around puzzled. As I moved my legs, I kicked a large black office chair. Grabbing onto the desk I slowly pulled myself up and looked around.

" What the hell is going on?" I thought. I knew what I was seeing, but it made absolutely no sense. I stared blankly at the wall clock, mounted just above the familiar whiteboard. I was at work. This was my desk, though my papers, my keyboard, and my phone for now on the floor. The big black office chair was my chair. The clock said 5:30, which meant everyone was gone a half hour ago. Yeah why was I still here. There was no sign of the bald guy, the black guys with guns, or the two tone giant. I slowly reach down and grab my chair, and lifted it up right. After picking up my papers and putting the keyboard in the phone back on the desk. I sat down on my chair, my heart rate was beginning to normalize. As I looked on the floor to my left I saw the suitcase. I grabbed it in the box that was now sitting on my desk and slowly walked out of the office. I still wasn't sure if I was really awake, or dreaming.

Hey @dreamingirwin thanks for your contribution to the story chain, the winner has just been announced and a new story chain has begun - https://steemit.com/story/@freedomexists/the-absent-gentleman-steemit-story-chain-14-where-you-write-the-story-and-100-whaleshares-for-the-winner

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
The resteem was payed by @dreamingirwin
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Here is an alternate Part 2:
"What could possibly be worth £250,000 to you?"
I studied his face for signs of deception or unease.
His gaze remained direct, piercing.

"I need you to stand in my place...for one night...don't, worry," his soft voice cajoled, "there is no physical danger to you, only gain."

I shifted in my seat then dragged my eyes away from his gold-flecked gray eyes.

His stare unsettled me as my mind raced through just how much that money could help my mother and ease her suffering with a rare blood disorder.

Experimental treatment in Sweden promised remarkable results. A picture of my petite mother suffering daily to care for herself and my father flashed before me. This money could give her her life back. My heart thumped against my chest. I turned my attention back to the stranger.

"This is totally above board?"

He nodded slowly,"I would not put you at risk. I know that you care for your ailing mother."

I froze momentarily on the bench as the words registered. Leaping to my feet, the park bench wobbled. My hands were shaking as I snatched my battered suitcase.

"Excuse me, sir, but I'm not interested. Stay out of my life. I never want to see your face again and leave my family alone!"
His hand shot out and touched my arm.
"Matthew, please hear me out. Your mother is safe. Accept my proposition and she will be well again, too. I have chosen you with infinite care. I had to be sure of my choice. No ordinary man can father my only heir."

Hey @wandrnrose7 thanks for your contribution to the story chain, the winner has just been announced and a new story chain has begun - https://steemit.com/story/@freedomexists/the-absent-gentleman-steemit-story-chain-14-where-you-write-the-story-and-100-whaleshares-for-the-winner