Pulp Mysteries : "Doug's Missing" part I

in #story5 years ago

Dear steemians , please put time to read the short stories. Each story is divided into two or three parts for your comfort.

Thank You.

  Doug McKenney was the founder of the greatest magazine in America’s history. At August 8th he left his residence in Los Angeles. Two days later on the 10th of the month his wife received a phone call from a man declaring that he is Doug, then saying the following to her:  

  “Evelyn my love, this is one of those onetime things; so I have to enjoy it. After all I’ll never die again. No-one will. Live your life to the fullest.”  

  Evelyn says she didn’t take it seriously because the man’s voice sounded nothing like her husband’s. However what he said was probably what Doug would say. But she finally decided not to report it to the Police. But five days later on August 15th, she was “worried sick” as she says, so at 10:30 p.m. Evelyn McKenney picked up the phone and dialed 911. The chief of the LAPD chose me as the lead detective of this case. Simply because I have never failed to solve mystery. Also because one month prior to the incident I was named the smartest man in the police force of the country in all the newspapers in America. 

 The following day at 6:30 a.m. I paid a visit to Mrs.McKenney. I asked her to describe Doug’s personality for me. Because the first key to solving a riddle is the character of the person involved. It can give you valuable information. Evelyn’s answer to my question was the following: 

 “He is so unique. A really particular person. That’s why I fell in love with him. He’s so unpredictable. Just the moment you think you know him he suddenly surprises you. The world would be a sad place without him.” 

 In a case like this one possible suspect is always the wife. Mr.McKenney is a wealthy man and if he dies or disappears , you do the math. Based on that hypothesis I asked Mrs.McKenney about her relationship with her husband. To which she responded: 

  “We had problems in the past but lately we were actually so good. He didn’t work as hard as he used to. Of course he always was kind of depressed. But we were so happy in the past couple of months. And that’s what scares me the most. He wouldn’t just walk away. I’m sure something’s happened to him.”  

  After that she started sobbing. For a brief moment the thought of “her crying might be the result of her guilt for something she might have done.” Crossed my mind. After all everything is possible. But I comforted her and left the house and followed the only lead I had. “The Phone Call”.  

  My men tracked the source of the call and listen to this; It was made through a “Pay Phone”, which is only seven blocks away from the McKenney house. So if the caller was Doug himself , he never actually left the city… 

  To be Continued…   

Sort:  

Congratulations @godard! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!