Travel Novel (2) -- 'Okinawa - The Short Escape from Reality'

in #story6 years ago (edited)

20171221_084647.jpg



Okinawa - The Short Escape from Reality


The weather last December and January in Korea was horrible. It was one of the coldest winters I have ever experienced.

Last December, it snowed a lot. Korea’s winters can be so beautiful with layers of snow everywhere, but I really couldn't bear this cold weather anymore. The temperature fell below zero almost everyday. Sometimes it went down below -15c. I had been sick for few weeks and became depressed.

While I was in the funeral home and right after the funeral, I did not want to talk to people. I stopped talking to friends for a few weeks. However, I talked about my situation to only one person.

back.jpg

A friend I met online about 6 months ago; I entered a random chatting website, I chose my interests and waited for someone to talk to. I felt bored and didn't have much to do. After talking to random strangers, he showed up. I could tell there was something different about him. He said he is traveling now, so I asked him when will he go back to home. He said he is always traveling. I did not know what it meant at first.

We discovered that we have a lot in common. We added each other on Facebook so we could stay in touch. By the time my grandfather passed away, he became a very important person to me. We haven't met each other in real life at that point but I could share so many ideas and interests with him.

Pula.jpg

Some days, he would send me photos of beautiful touristic sites he went to.

I was wondering how he can travel so easily. He said he is working remotely which allows him to travel and work at the same time. He reminded me of some people I met in a language study group last year. I taught Korean to foreigners and some of them had remote jobs so they could travel the world. Some worked as a software engineers, programmers, graphic designers or writers. I talked to those people but initially haven't thought that I can also be like them.

My new friend also has one of those jobs. When I said "I am jealous of you" to him, he said "You don't need to be jealous, because you'll be like me soon."
When he said that, I thought he is just joking and did not know this can be true.

When he noticed that I was in depression, he said he'll come to Korea to meet me on the weekend. He was in Thailand at that time and he couldn't just move over to me.

"Are you serious? It's freaking cold here."
"You seem sad and depressed. I'd like to help you."
"You are coming to Korea for only 2 days? That's insane."

I was very grateful, but I knew it can be difficult for him to come to Korea. He even does not have any warm clothes.
Suddenly a spontaneous idea occurred in my mind.
I hate the cold weather here, so what about meeting up in a warmer country?

"What about this, we can meet in a country between Thailand and Korea."
"Where?"
"Check out google maps"
"Okay, let me see."
"Do you see an island called Okinawa?"
"Where is Okinawa?"
"Below Japan, actually it belongs to Japan. It's close to Taiwan. You said you have not been to Japan, right?"
"I haven't"
"Let's meet in Okinawa, I'd like to escape from this reality."

And that very day, we arranged our first meeting in the Okinawa airport.

eef.png

Sort:  

Woff, woff!

Hello @historygirl, Nice to meet you!

I'm a guide dog living in KR community. I can see that you want to contribute to KR community and communicate with other Korean Steemians. I really appreciate it and I'd be more than happy to help.

KR tag is used mainly by Koreans, but we give warm welcome to anyone who wish to use it. I'm here to give you some advice so that your post can be viewed by many more Koreans. I'm a guide dog after all and that's what I do!

Tips:

  • If you're not comfortable to write in Korean, I highly recommend you write your post in English rather than using Google Translate.
    Unfortunately, Google Translate is terrible at translating English into Korean. You may think you wrote in perfect Korean, but what KR Steemians read is gibberish. Sorry, even Koreans can't understand your post written in Google-Translated Korean.
  • So, here's what might happen afterward. Your Google-Translated post might be mistaken as a spam so that whales could downvote your post. Yikes! I hope that wouldn't happen to you.
  • If your post is not relevant to Korea, not even vaguely, but you still use KR tag, Whales could think it as a spam and downvote your post. Double yikes!
  • If your post is somebody else's work(that is, plagiarism), then you'll definitely get downvotes.
  • If you keep abusing tags, you may be considered as a spammer. It may result to put you into the blacklist. Oops!

I sincerely hope that you enjoy Steemit without getting downvotes. Because Steemit is a wonderful place. See? Korean Steemians are kind enough to raise a guide dog(that's me) to help you!

Woff, woff! 🐶

Nice hook at the end, definitely want to read more! Keep it coming!

Congratulations @historygirl! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @historygirl! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!