You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reminiscing

in #story2 years ago

But why melancholy? You're in an infinitely better place, in many respects, than you were in 2016, right ? :)

This is just...perfect. I've been searching for that paradise for months, yet it seems with each step I take, I get a little further from it. How do you radiate happiness? Or rather, how did you get there? (Because I don't think there are easy-outs or ways to "hack" it)

Sort:  

Melancholy for the past, I guess. That period of my life 2016-2019 was so damned exciting. It was akin to a rocket launching. The truth is I was probably most vulnerable during those years, financially anyway. No regular income and maybe six months worth of living expenses. As we grow older we tend to view the past with rose-colored glasses and see things as much better than they really were. So there is some of that too. : )

I think you begin to radiate happiness by doing what truly ignites and satisfies your soul, being deeply curious and making a commitment to become a better version of you every day, having enough confidence in yourself to take measured risks. That's how I got there anyway. Once you pursue and achieve this state you become like a magnet that attracts good things and more opportunities into your life.

You're right, there are no "hacks" for it that are of any lasting value. Everyone's path is different and each of us have to find what our own happiness is. It sounds like writing/traveling might be yours?

Once you find that just run towards it. Then cultivate a state of gratitude for having found it. Staying in that state of gratitude can be tough because no matter what we great things we might achieve we tend to grow accustomed to them and then take them for granted. Gratitude is simply taking none of those great things for granted. I have to occasionally remind myself of this. It truly is like herding sheep...one of those little b@stards stray from time to time and you have to guide it back. I hope this all makes sense. I kind of rambled there a bit. Lol.

As we grow older we tend to view the past with rose-colored glasses and see things as much better than they really were.

Considering the years that followed, I guess that's not hard to do, at all. But it seems you're in a pretty great place now, as well.

I hope this all makes sense. I kind of rambled there a bit. Lol.

Yes, it does. More than I could tell you. Thank you.