You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is This The New Tesla Model 3?

in #storylast year

I've never owned a car, since I don't really feel I'd need one for my lifestyle, but if it had to be one, I think I'd go for a Tesla (were they a lil more affordable!). Though I wonder how long Tesla will keep an edge over other brands? I imagine they'd seek to learn and adapt their own styles to all these neat little things that are presently setting Tesla apart.

Sort:  

Cars are so expensive in general. Most of the EVs carry a higher up-front cost but they cost you significantly less over the years of ownership. I'm not sure if it equals out in the end or if one is less expensive overall. Tesla is releasing their Model 2 in a year or so that's supposedly going to be a compact version of the Model Y. That should start at around $25K and they're prepping to make around 4M of them. I think Tesla has a fairly large lead on the other EV manufacturers but some of the German, Chinese, and Korean brands are already making decent headway. American legacy automakers are having a bit more of a struggle. I'm hearing decent things about the Chevy Bolt but GM is losing around $9k on each of them they sell. Where they'll all have a very difficult time catching up is when it comes to the self-driving tech and the vehicles' OS, it's so intuitive and convenient.