Turning Tables .. Story

in #story6 years ago

It all started at six thirty in the Duke's castle. The room was elegantly lit and tastefully decorated. Crimson drapes contrasted beautifully with the ecru walls. The atmosphere was serene; perfect for a good game of poker.

Sitting across the table was the Baron, notable for foul play, vicious wins and his innate quality of being a sore loser. A quality I knew all too well.
The snake had tricked me into leaving Britain and then he had used that advantage to steal the love of my soul mate, Florence and make her his Baroness. Alas! Even a knight's nobility had its limits. She was also present, draped on his left arm, lovely as ever, looking like the blooming tulips in mid spring. Her auburn hair, long and flowing. Her green eyes, searching. Eyes that could pull any man into an ocean of wonder. Lips so soft and luscious. I remembered the strawberry taste from the last time they kissed me goodbye. She looked even lovelier tonight.

The other guests on the table were the Duke, his eternally arrogant Duchess, a Viscount, some knights and other noble and aristocratic men. They all looked pleasant. Of course, they were here to relax. I was not and certainly, not the Baron. He was my only real competition.
Florence, and now this? I needed nerves of steel to control myself as I felt an immediate urge to smash his hawk-like face into the table.

It was time to play. And for the past hour, the other guests had been pleased with me. They were all smiles. Such admiration I saw in their eyes! I even caught the eye of the condescending Duchess. After all, winning three games was no dinky feat. I was well on my way to earning my fourth consecutive win. The night was looking up.

The cards were shuffled and I got mine. It was a King and ten of clubs. No one could beat that. Not even "the witty Baron". It was time to bet. Everyone had their stakes at ten percent except for the Baron of course, who kept his at twenty percent.

I quickly set up my stakes at fifty percent, smiling as I pushed my cards across the table and revealed them. I lost! The Baron had two Kings. I honestly didn't see that coming. When did the Baron get his groove back on? Was my luck going bad? It couldn't be.

Moreover, I was still leading three games to one. The cards were shuffled again and again. Two hours had passed and I had almost won the last rounds if it were not for the crafty Baron. I looked at his eyes and saw a wicked smile on his face. No! A smirk was more like it. His cold eyes stared into mine as though he were reading my mind like a book.

It was time to play again. All the other dignitaries had given up two, three rounds ago. It was just the Baron and I. We got our cards and I checked mine. Bang! Two solid Kings. It took the last ounce of my self restraint to keep from laughing out hysterically. I was going to show him who Sir Harry was.

There was no way I could lose this. Or could I? I could retreat and go home with nothing but my self dignity intact. Or I could be a legend. The one who trounced the Baron. Yes! That was what I would be. A Legend! I would beat him for once in my life. Humiliating him in front of everyone was paramount. I would also get some money, which to be honest, I needed. The leaking roof needed fixing and I could expand my house. A house with no wife or children. I could even get to have Florence in my bed. After all, she was mine first. Yes, I wanted it all.

"All in" , I said, As I set the stakes to a hundred percent. I dropped my cards much to the surprise of everyone as they congratulated me. I knew it! Victory was mine. I was ready to take home the spoils. Suddenly, I saw the Baron taking away all my betting tallies. "Why?" I asked, my voice laced with a slight hint of irritation. The room was abruptly quiet. The Baroness raised her graceful fingers, fingers I had been dying to taste, and pointed them to the spot where the Baron had dropped his cards. I looked down with bloodshot eyes as I struggled to hold in my tears, chagrined to see what it held - "TWO ACES."